The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

January 25, 2006

Press Contact:
Jodi Bart, UT Law Communications Coordinator, (512) 232-1408 or

UT Law Faculty Contributions to the 2006 AALS Annual Meeting

AUSTIN, Texas—Eight UT Law professors participated in the annual meeting of the American Association of Law Schools, held this year from Jan. 3 - Jan. 7 in Washington, D.C. The AALS is a non-profit organization of 160 law schools.

Sarah Cleveland spoke about the international law issues presented by Spector v. Norwegian Cruise Lines, which upheld the application of the Americans With Disabilities Act to foreign-flagged cruise ships.

Mechele Dickerson was on the creditors’ rights panel.

Douglas Laycock spoke to the Section on Law and Religion. His topic was Regulatory Exemptions and the Original Understanding of the Establishment Clause.

Terri LeClercq received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Section on Legal Research and Writing. She is the first non-lawyer recognized with this national award.

Sanford Levinson was on a panel about a forthcoming book by Jim Fleming to be published by the University of Chicago Press.

David Rabban gave a talk entitled "Academic Freedom and Law School Clinics: Outside Influences and Interference."

David Sokolow was elected Secretary of the Teaching Methods section of the AALS. He will be Vice-President next year, and President the following year.

Gerald Torres was committee chair of the Scholar Papers competition.

Louise Weinberg chaired the Section on Admiralty and Maritime Law. Weinberg's program, "Civil Rights on a Cruise," involved the recent Supreme Court decision in Spector v. Norwegian Cruise Lines.

Related Links:
Professor Teresa R. Leclercq Honored with AALS Award for Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research:
UT Law Faculty Contributions to 2005 AALS Annual Meeting:
UT Law Faculty Contributions to 2004 AALS Annual Meeting: