The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 7, 2006

Press Contact:
Allegra Young, UT Law, (512) 471-7330

UT Law's Highest Honor Society Installs 2006 Chancellors

Academic honor society a UT tradition since 1912

Group photo of the 2006 Chancellors
The 2006 Chancellors

AUSTIN, Texas―Today UT Law inducted the 2006 Chancellors. Membership to Chancellors is extended to the 16 students with the highest grade point averages after two years at UT Law.

The 2006 Chancellors are:

Grand Chancellors: James Hawkins and Elizabeth McKee
Vice Chancellors: Catherine Bellah and Luke Ledbetter
Clerk: Jon Nelsen
Keeper of the Peregrinus: Andrew Jackson
Chancellors at Large (in alphabetical order):
Ryan Gaubert
Robert Greenslade
Daniel Klein
Sam Merrill
Jason Pikler
Ronald Scharnberg
Stacy Rogers Sharp
Travis Siebeneicher
Ronald Smith
Edward Tulin
Tyler Whitmer

Of note, Elizabeth McKee is the nineteenth woman to receive the Grand Chancellor designation. Since 1970, 44% of all Grand Chancellors have been women.

More than 1,000 UT Law students have been members of Chancellors. Since 1912, the names of Chancellors have been enrolled in a roster in the law library's Rare Book Room. The book includes the names of many who are prominent in legal practice, the judiciary, and academia. Among the signatures are W. Page Keeton, Dean of UT Law; Charles Meyers, Dean of Stanford Law School; Henry Wade, the legendary Dallas district attorney; John Hill, former attorney general of Texas; Nicholas Johnson, former FCC commissioner; Ralph Yarborough, a U.S. Senator; U.S. Rep. Lloyd Doggett; and Judges Joseph Sneed, Thomas Gee, and Diane Wood of the U.S. Courts of Appeal.

Related links:
Photos of the 2006 Chancellors