The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 20, 2006

Contact: Cheryl Brandt, UT Law Advocacy Programs, (512) 232-1257.

UT to Light Tower in Honor of 2005-2006 Mock Trial & Moot Court National Champions

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas at Austin will light the Tower on Tues., April 25, in honor of UT Law's ABA Arbitration Competition team and the Giles Sutherland Rich Intellectual Property Moot Court team. UT Law has won ten national championships in the last seven years.

UT Arbitration team members Andrew Cook, '06, Portia Bettis Culver, '06, Casey Kaplan, '07, and Sarah Munson, '07, beat Stetson University for the championship in the inaugural ABA Arbitration Competition. The team was coached by adjunct professors John Fleming and Michael Golden, '01. Fleming is an Austin attorney and arbitrator and Golden is an associate with Vinson & Elkins. The competition was hosted by William Mitchell School of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota, and sponsored by the American Bar Association and the National Arbitration Forum. Twenty teams from across the nation participated in this inaugural competition.

For the fourth time in the last five years and the third year in a row, The University of Texas came home with the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition national title. Coached by Pierre Hubert and Jennifer Kuhn and sponsored by the firms Dewey Ballantine, L.L.P. and McKool Smith, team members Shalla Santos, '06 and Meredith Fitzpatrick, '07 beat the University of Minnesota in the final round to win the national championship title in Washington, D.C. During the regional final rounds of this competition, Santos & Fitzpatrick faced their classmate and Regional Champion, Leisa Peschel, '07. This is the second consecutive year that both UT teams advanced to the national competition.

In addition to the national championships, UT teams also brought home regional championships this year in the ABA Negotiation Competition, Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition, and the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition. In both the Negotiation and Intellectual Property Regional Competitions, UT teams swept the final rounds.

This is sixth time The University has held a Tower lighting in recognition of the Law School teams’ outstanding academic achievements. Previous lightings were for the 1999 National Mock Trial championship team, 2000 Tournament of Champions Mock Trial national championship team, the 2002 Frederick Douglass Moot Court national championship team, the 2003, 2004 and 2005 Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court national championship teams, and the 2004 and 2005 Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court national championship teams.

Related Links:
UT Law Advocacy Program:
UT Law Wins American Bar Association National Arbitration Competition: