The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

May 8, 2006

Press and Event Contact: Tina Fernandez, UT Law Career Services Office, (512) 232-1159 or

Action Committee for Career Services Wins Robert Murff Excellence Award

Student organization honored for outstanding support of career services at UT-Austin

2006 Robert Murff Excellence Award Recipients
L-R: Simone Leavenworth, Career Counselor, UT Law Career Services Office; Jamal Rhadbane, UT Law Student, ACCS Member; Mansoor Bharmal, UT Law Student, ACCS Member; Tina Fernandez, Associate Director, UT Law Career Services Office (and TC3 President for 2006-07). Photo credit: Deb Freeman.

AUSTIN, Texas—The Texas Campus Career Council (TC3) at The University of Texas at Austin is honoring the Action Committee for Career Services (ACCS) with a 2006 Robert Murff Excellence Award for outstanding support of career services at UT Law School. The award will be presented on Thurs., May 11, at the UT Alumni Center.

“We are happy that our ACCS are being recognized for the good and much appreciated work they performed this year,” said David Montoya, Assistant Dean for Career Services at the UT School of Law. “In addition to the many employer outreach and program-related tasks that they assisted with, their ambassadorship between the CSO and the student body was beneficial in helping us learn about student needs and helping students understand how best to utilize the resources of our office,” he said.

Members of the Action Committee for Career Services during the 2005-06 academic year included first-year law student Jamal Rhadbane; second-year law students Mansoor Bharmal, Anna Geismer-Bowman, Jennifer Brill, Wes Cooper, Kristen Elizondo, Colette Fields, Juan Garcia, Laura Hebert, Roshan Mansinghani, Jacqueline Sorcic, and Tanikqua Young; and third-year law students Melissa Devine, Anner Holder and Mitchell Zoll.

Recognizing that the efforts of the career services individual offices across campus contribute to the success of the collective student body, TC3 seeks to laud the many “career agents” who assist UT-Austin’s individual career service offices. This year, TC3 is also honoring David Garlock, senior lecturer with the UT School of Journalism.

This is the eighth year the award has been presented, and it is named in honor of the founder of UT-Austin’s Career Exploration Center, Dr. Robert Murff, in recognition of his lasting contribution to campus career services. This is the third year that members of the UT Law community have been recognized. In 2002, UT Law professors R.A. Reese and Ernest Young received the award as did UT Law professor Patrick Woolley in 2005.

“Members of the ACCS are some of our most outstanding law students, who are involved in a host of other public service activities,” said Simone Leavenworth, Career Counselor at UT Law, who nominated the student organization for the Murff Award. “Their contribution of time and talent enables the Career Services Office to further expand employment opportunities for our students.”

“ACCS has been a way for me to serve the law student community in a unique way,” said Roshan Mansinghani, a second-year law student and member of the Action Committee for Career Services. “My time volunteering has been focused on maintaining connections with alumni so that students are able to network and be mentored. I know this work has a direct impact on the student body and I am glad I am able to help.”

The Action Committee for Career Services was established in 2003 as a way for students to partner with the UT Law Career Services Office by performing employer outreach, assisting with on-campus recruiting programs and receptions, and developing career-related resources used by UT Law students and alumni.

Related Links:
UT Law Career Services Office:
Patrick Woolley Wins Robert Murff Excellence Award: