The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

May 23, 2006

Press Contact: Jodi Bart, UT Law Communications, (512) 232-1408.

UT Law Team Wins Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition

AUSTIN, Texas — A team of students from The University of Texas School of Law won the Elliott Cup, a moot court competition founded this year by the Bankruptcy Section of the State Bar of Texas. The competition was hosted by the Law School on Sat., Feb. 25 and was named after Joe Elliott, a former bankruptcy court judge in San Antonio.

Ten teams competed in this year’s statewide competition, two of which were from UT Law. Natasha Self and Theresa Chin were members of the winning team. Ryan Gaubert and Jami John also competed on behalf of UT Law, with Josh Leske acting as alternate for both teams. The other Texas Law School’s that participated were University of Houston, South Texas, SMU, and Texas Tech.

These teams were coached by UT Law alumni Debbie Langehennig, ’88 and Steve Lemmon, ’84. Langehennig is a briefing attorney with the U.S. Bankruptcy Court in Austin and Lemmon is a partner with Brown McCarroll in Austin. UT Law Professors Jay Westbrook and Mechelle Dickerson assisted with the coaching.

“The Texas teams have always done well in the national competition, so to win this first trophy, named after a beloved bankruptcy judge, means a great deal. We appreciate the efforts of the Bankruptcy Section of the State Bar in establishing the Elliot Cup,” said Professor Jay Westbrook.

The final portion of the Elliott Cup was judged by the following U.S. Bankruptcy Court Judges: Russell F. Nelms (Northern District of Texas), Leif Clark (Western District of Texas) and Adjunct Professor at UT Law, John Akard (retired), and Jeff Bohm, ’84, (Southern District of Texas).

Next year, the Elliott Cup will be held in Houston, and co-hosted by the University of Houston and South Texas.