The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

August 9, 2006

Press Contacts: Kirston Fortune, Assistant Dean for Communications, (512) 471.7330, or Dee Welborn, UT Law, 232-1315.

Law School Hosts International Academy of Commercial and Consumer Law Meeting, Aug. 9-12

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas School of Law will host the 13th biennial meeting of The International Academy of Commercial and Consumer Law (IACCL), whose members come from 33 countries, on Aug. 9-12.

The meeting begins with an evening reception on Wed., Aug. 9, at the Littlefield Home on the University's campus with welcoming remarks from Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice Wallace Jefferson, a 1988 graduate of UT Law, and UT Law Dean Lawrence Sager.

Founded in the 1980s, the IACCL consists of scholars and teachers in the fields of commercial and consumer law who meet every other year to discuss papers presented by the members. These papers report developments in commercial law in various countries and those emerging from international institutions, public and private.

Papers to be presented at this year's meeting - entitled "Changing Laws for Changing Times" - include discussions of the factors that make legal systems difficult to change, developments in European anti-trust and market regulation law, the relationship between treaties on cultural diversity and world trade law, conflicts of law, the evolution of court systems in developing countries, and a number of others. All of the papers will be presented in the Law School's Eidman Courtroom and are scheduled to be published in UT Law's Texas International Law Journal in 2007.

UT Law professor Jay Westbrook, an organizer of the meeting, will present a a paper entitled "Choice of Law in Multinational Avoidance Actions" during a session on insolvency on Fri., August 11, from 11 a.m . to 12:30 p.m. During the same session, UT Law professor Ronald Mann, will present "A Comparative Analysis of Bankruptcy Filing Rates and the Severity of Consumer Bankruptcy Law."

The IACCL has met all over the world, including Oxford University, St. Louis University in the United States, Bar Ilan University in Israel, the Max Planck Institute in Germany, and the University of Riga in Latvia.

The current officers of the Academy are President, Professor Ross Cranston, London School of Economics and a former soliciter general of England; President-Elect, Jrgen Basedow, director of the Max Planck Institute for Foreign Private Law and Private International Law in Hamburg; and Treasurer, Professor Ron Cuming of the University of Saskatchewan.