The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

Feburary 22, 2007

Press Contact:Kirston Fortune, Assistant Dean for Communications, (512) 471.7330 or or Cheryl Brandt, UT Law Advocacy Program,

UT Law Wins Regional Championship at 2007 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition; Advances to National Rounds, March 21–25

Photo of mock trial team
Regional champs, from left to right, are Dwayne Smith, Ciara Williams, Raffaela Belizaire, and Sophia Lecky.

AUSTIN, Texas—The University of Texas School of Law will compete in the national rounds of the 2007 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition on March 21–25 in Atlanta after winning the regional championship last month.

Two teams represented UT at this year’s regional mock trial competition on Jan. 24–28 in Tulsa, OK. Team members Marc Bozeman,’07, Elizabeth Lockett, ’08, Jessica Parker ’08, and Tanikqua Young, ’07, progressed to quarterfinals. Team members Kathryn Freeman, ’08, Sophia Lecky, ’07, Dwayne Smith, ’08, and Ciara Williams, ’07, assisted by Raffaela Belizaire,’09, defeated St. Mary’s Law School in the final round to win the regional championship.

In addition, Lockett won Best Advocate, with Bozeman and Williams earning an honorable mention in that same category. Both of UT’s 2006–2007 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial teams are coached by Mark Santos,’02, an associate at Clark, Thomas & Winters. This is Santos’ first year to coach.

UT also competed in the Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition held at the same time. Moot court team members Rebecca Horwitz,’07, and Ifeyinwa Ossai, ’07–coached by Kameron Johnson, ’92, of the Travis County Juvenile Public Defender’s Office–advanced to the semi-final round and won the award for Best Respondent’s Brief.

The Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial and Frederick Douglass Moot Court competitions are hosted by the National Black Law Students Association (NBLSA). Founded in 1968, NBLSA is the largest student-run organization in the United States and represents over 6,000 law students in 200 chapters across the nation.

The University of Texas School of Law mock trial and moot court teams brought home more awards from these competitions than any other school participating this year. This is the third time in the last five years that UT has taken a championship title in the NBLSA mock trial or moot court competition. UT Law teams won the 2002 Frederick Douglass Moot Court National Championship and the 2004 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Regional Championship.

Related Link:

UT Law Advocacy Program: