The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

November 17, 2008

2009 Chancellors announced

The Law School is pleased to announce the students of the class of 2009 who have been admitted to Chancellors, the Law School’s most prestigious honor society. Since 1912, Chancellors has recognized the law students who have achieved the sixteen highest grade point averages in their class through their second year of school. The 2009 Chancellors are:

Grand Chancellor: Russell Harris Falconer
Vice Chancellor: Brett Max Kaufman
Clerks: Stephen Andrew Calhoun
Kyle Andrew Ellis
Brian Matthew Gillett
Ryan Allen Hackney
Keeper of the Peregrinus: Rebecca Jennifer Kalmus
Chancellors-at-Large: Matthew Tyler Bohuslav
George Thomas Cason
Keith Yellin Cohan
Danley Kathryn Cornyn
Lisa Renee Holcombe
Peter Alexander Janowski
Matthew Thomas McCrary
Rachael Barnes Novier
Sean Myles Smith
Zhiming Zhou

The Chancellors with the four highest grade point averages are officers of the society for their year: Grand Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, Clerk, and Keeper of the Peregrinus. The rest are Chancellors-at-Large. In the case of a tie in grade-point average, more than sixteen students can become Chancellors, and more than one student can hold an officer’s title.

The installation ceremony for the 2009 Chancellors will take place in February 2009. More information on the history of the Chancellors, including photographs from recent installation ceremonies and lists of former Chancellors, is available here

Related links:


2008 Chancellors

2007 Chancellors

2006 Chancellors

Contact: Kirston Fortune, UT Law Communications Office, (512) 471-7330, or