The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

February 23, 2009

UT Law’s highest honor society installs 2009 Chancellors


This year’s inductees into the Chancellors are (left to right) Rachael Novier, Jim Zhou, Brian Gillett, Ryan Hackney, Kyle Ellis, T. Cason, Lisa Holcombe, Russ Falconer, Matt Bohuslav, Peter Janowski, Rebecca Kalmus, Danley Cornyn, Keith Cohan, Matt McCrary, Stephen Calhoun, Sean Smith, and Brett Kaufman.

Former Vice Chancellor, Kamela Bridges, ‘91

On Thursday, February 19, 2009, seventeen students were inducted into Chancellors, UT Law’s most prestigious honor society. Professor David Anderson, ’72, academic advisor to the Chancellors for more than a quarter century, presided at the ceremony.

Former Vice Chancellor, Kamela Bridges, ’91, was this year’s speaker. Before joining UT Law in 2000 as a lecturer, Bridges was a litigator with Locke Liddell & Sapp. She teaches legal research and writing.

Chancellors was organized in 1912. Each year the sixteen law students with the highest grade point averages at the end of their first two years of study are inducted into the honor society. In the case of a tie in grade-point average, as happened this year, more than sixteen students can become Chancellors, and more than one student can hold an officer’s title.

The Chancellors with the four highest grade point averages are officers of the society for their year: Grand Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, Clerk, and Keeper of the Peregrinus. The rest are Chancellors-at-Large.
This year’s inductees are:

Grand Chancellor: Russell Harris Falconer
Vice Chancellor: Brett Max Kaufman
Clerks: Stephen Andrew Calhoun
Kyle Andrew Ellis
Brian Matthew Gillett
Ryan Allen Hackney
Keeper of the Peregrinus: Rebecca Jennifer Kalmus
Chancellors-at-Large: Matthew Tyler Bohuslav
George Thomas Cason
Keith Yellin Cohan
Danley Kathryn Cornyn
Lisa Renee Holcombe
Peter Alexander Janowski
Matthew Thomas McCrary
Rachael Barnes Novier
Sean Myles Smith
Zhiming Zhou

Related links:


2008 Chancellors

2007 Chancellors

2006 Chancellors

Kirston Fortune, UT Law Communications, (512) 471-7330, or