The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 23, 2009

University of Texas Tower to be lit April 29, 2009, for Law School’s Hispanic National Bar Association Moot Court Competition championship

UPDATE: This event has been rescheduled. The Tower lighting was originally scheduled for April 28, but will now take place April 29.

The University of Texas Tower will be lit on Wednesday, April 29, to honor the University of Texas School of Law team that recently won the 2009 Hispanic National Bar Association’s Moot Court Competition championship. This is the twelfth national championship the Law School has won in the last ten years.

The Law School’s Hispanic National Bar Association moot court team members, Cassandra Cuellar, ’10; Belinda Garcia, ’10; and Rudy Segura, ’09, defeated Loyola Law School (Los Angeles) in the final round of the competition to bring home the national title. Segura also won the award for best speaker. This year's competition was held March 5–7, 2009, in Miami, Florida, and included thirty-two teams from across the country. The problem was based on a currently pending Supreme Court case challenging certain rulings of former Attorney General Ashcroft.

The team is coached by Shalla Santos, ’06, an associate at Allensworth & Porter, LLP. As a UT Law student, Santos was a member of the 2006 Giles Sutherland Rich Intellectual Property Moot Court national championship team. Although this was her first year coaching, this will be her second tower lighting.

The Hispanic National Bar Association was founded thirty years ago and represents the interests of over 100,000 legal professionals and students. Each spring the HNBA hosts a moot court competition during its mid-year conference.

This is the eighth time the university has held a tower lighting in recognition of a Law School team’s outstanding achievements. Previous lightings were for the 1999 National Mock Trial championship team; 2000 Tournament of Champions Mock Trial national championship team; the 2002 Frederick Douglass Moot Court national championship team; the 2003, 2004, and 2005 Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court national championship teams; the 2005 ABA Arbitration competition national championship team; and the 2004, 2005, 2006, and 2008 Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court national championship teams.

Related links:

UT Law Trial Advocacy

Hispanic National Bar Association

UT Law wins 2006 Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition national title


Cheryl Brandt, Advocacy Programs, UT Law, 512-232-1257,