UTLaw News

October 2010

Photo of Public Service Scholars

The 2010–2011 Public Service Scholars, left to right: Michael Cowles, Susannah Volpe, Meredith Shytles, Alec Swafford, and Brandi Mirzakhani

Five students named Public Service Scholars

Five students have been selected to serve as Public Service Scholars for 2010–2011 with the William Wayne Justice Center for Public Interest Law at the University of Texas School of Law.

Recent Graduates Help Secure Repatriation of Russian Guest Workers

Two recent Law School graduates working for the Equal Justice Center in Austin were able to repatriate six Russian guest workers who had been evicted from their residences and fired from their jobs after asking for higher pay after their wages were cut to below the minimum wage.

Events at the School of Law

Human Rights Happy Hours

On Monday, October 11, 2010, the Rapoport Center will host Professor Karen Knop of the University of Toronto. Knop will discuss "The Informal State in International Law: the United States, Gender, and Unilateralism." The talk is cosponsored by the Center for Women’s and Gender Studies.

On Monday, October 25, 2010, Professor Lora Wildenthal of Rice University will discuss “Asylum Rights between Left and Right: the German Case.” Wildenthal’s talk is cosponsored by the Institute for Historical Studies.

Further information about this and other Rapoport Center events can be found on the Human Rights Happy Hour Speaker Series webpage.

National Pro Bono Celebration—Book Talk and Film Screening, October 27–28, 2010

As part of the American Bar Association’s weeklong National Pro Bono Celebration, the Law School will host a book talk by Ian Graham, '01, author of Unbillable Hours: A True Story. The book is a memoir about Graham’s work on behalf of Mario Rocha, who was wrongfully convicted at sixteen and sentenced to life in prison. Graham will speak on Wednesday, October 27, from 11:30 a.m. to 12:20 p.m., in TNH 2.124.

The following day on Thursday, October 28, Mario’s Story, a documentary film about the case, will be screened starting at 5:30, in the Charles I. Francis Auditorium, TNH 2.114. Both events are free and open to the public.

Hydraulic Fracturing Symposium, October 29, 2010

The Texas Environmental Law Journal is pleased to announce that it will host its First Annual Symposium on Friday, October 29, 2010. The Symposium will discuss the legal and environmental impacts of extracting gas from shale, and CLE credits will be available. More information and CLE registration can be found on the Symposium website.

Faculty News

The National Immigration Project of the National Lawyers Guild honors Barbara Hines with the 2010 Carol Weiss King Award, Recognizes Immigrant Rights Work

The National Immigration Project of the National Lawyers Guild has named Barbara Hines, director of the Immigration Clinic at the University of Texas School of Law, the 2010 recipient of its Carol Weiss King Award for excellence in the pursuit of social justice through organizing, litigating, and teaching.

Professor Sanford Levinson receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Political Science Association

Sanford Levinson, a professor at the University of Texas School of Law and the University of Texas at Austin, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Law and Courts Section of the American Political Science Association on September 3, 2010, during its annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

The Massey Prize

The School of Law is proud to announce the Massey Prize in Law, Innovation, and Capital Markets. $50,000 will be awarded biennially to the scholarly book, article, or body of work that has made a significant contribution to the understanding of law, innovation, and capital markets. The winner of the inaugural Prize will be honored at a major academic conference at the School of Law in the fall of 2011.

Quick Links

UT Law News is published ten times a year, monthly throughout the academic year and once in the summer.

Comments? Suggestions? Please e-mail Kirston Fortune, UT Law Communications, kfortune@law.utexas.edu.

©2010 The University of Texas at Austin School of Law. All rights reserved.

The University of Texas School of Law
727 E. Dean Keeton St.
Austin, Texas 78705