The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

Early Registration, Eligibility and Dates

All students are eligible to participate in early registration during the Spring semester; however, only second-year and third-year students are eligible in the Fall semester, when first-year courses are pre-assigned to incoming students.


Spring 2015 Early Registration


Priority of Course Reward

Registration is not conducted on a first-come/first-serve basis; all course requests are processed together immediately after the close of early registration.

There are four priority groups, with Group A receiving top priority:

  1. Group A: Those students who will complete at least 63 hours by December 20;
  2. Group B: Those who will complete 47–62 hours;
  3. Group C: Those who will complete 29–46 hours; and,
  4. Group D: Those who will complete 0–28 hours.

Generally speaking, group A will be given top priority followed by groups B, C, and D in that order. However, priority status will reverse for the courses listed below. That is, Group D will have priority over Group C, who will have priority over Group B, who will have priority over Group A. This reversal gives priority to those students who want to specialize in areas that may have prerequisites.

  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Business Associations
  • Constitutional Law II
  • Corporations
  • Criminal Procedure: Investigation
  • Criminal Procedure: Prosecution
  • Federal Income Tax
  • Mediation
  • Payment Systems
  • Professional Responsibility
  • Secured Credit
  • Texas Civil Procedure Survey

back to top


Second-Year Priority

All law students are required to complete Professional Responsibility, Constitutional Law II, and a Professional Skills Course (effective for JDs matriculating in Fall 2008 or later) in order to graduate; second-year students have priority in the first two classes, and we strongly advise you to take them in your second year to help ensure that you can enroll in the courses.

You may substitute one of the following courses for Constitutional Law II:

  • Criminal Procedure: Prosecution
  • Criminal Procedure: Investigation

back to top


Bars

The system will notify you of any bars you have incurred. Please clear all bars in order to register for courses. Emergency loan bars will not be temporarily lifted so that you may early register. You must remain "bar-free" through the first day of the add/drop period in order for your requests to be processed. That is, if you are bar free during the early registration period and make course requests, but then incur a bar before the first day of the add/drop period, your course requests will not be processed.

back to top


Tuition Bills

To pay by credit card or EFT, visit the What I Owe page on UT Direct.

For all other forms of payment, go to the CASHIER'S OFFICE, Main Building (the Tower), Room 8.

If you do not pay by the deadline, your registration will be cancelled and you will need to Late Register.

Tuition Bills will be emailed the week following the close of the add/drop period. If it is two weeks after the close of the add/drop period and you still have not received your tuition notice, call Student Accounting at 475-7777 or visit the My Tuition Bill page.

If financial aid or scholarships pay for your tuition bill, please defer to that option by visiting the My Tuition Bill page. This will ensure that your classes are not cancelled. You may also go to the Cashier's Office in the Main Building, Room 8, to make a deferment in person.

To verify payment of your tuition bill, visit the My Tuition Bill page.

back to top


Maximum Hours

Students may register for up to a maximum of 16 hours during early registration. You must be registered for a minimum of 10 hours, unless you have approval from the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs. Approval is not automatic. There must be a compelling reason. Records will be checked after the 12th class day to audit course hours.

If you need to take 17 hours to graduate in this specific semester, you must request approval from the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs. If you have received approval to register over the limit, you may add the extra course during the add/drop period. The current American Bar Association standard prohibits law students from registering for more than 17 hours per semester.

Forms to request approval to take less than 10 or more than 16 hours are available in the Student Affairs Office or online.

back to top


Clinics

You must have 43 semester hours to early request several of the clinics. (Refer to the individual course descriptions for each clinic of interest.) Enter your choice of clinics. Put the Central unique number in the "CLINIC (Part 1)" space and the second unique number, if the clinic has a second part, in "Part 2".

Note: Clinics require a separate application. Applications can be obtained by going to the SAO's Applications page and clicking on the individual clinic of interest.

back to top


Seminars

You must have 43 semester hours to request a seminar during this period. You cannot request a seminar during early registration if you have already taken one or are taking one now. Enter two preferences on Seminar lines 1 & 2. Only one seminar (if available) will be awarded to you during early registration. If you do not have 43 hours, or wish to take a second (or third, etc.) seminar, any remaining seats in writing seminars will be available beginning with the first add/drop access period.

back to top


How to Request Courses

Enter your course requests in order of preference, numbers 1–9 (one is the highest).

DO NOT INCLUDE CLINICS or SEMINARS in the COURSE REQUESTS numbers 1–9.

List alternate courses in this section. The computer will assign no more than the maximum number of hours you designate. You may request more than one section of a course; the computer will not award the course twice.

Time conflicts: You may request courses that have time conflicts; if both courses are available, the system will award the one you have given the higher priority. You will not be awarded both. The School of Law does not allow students to take courses that have any amount of time conflict.

Confirmation: After saving and submitting your early registration request, you should get a green message indicating that all of your changes have been accepted. If you get a red message, you entered something incorrectly, and you must correct the error and submit changes again until the green message comes up. Additionally, an email confirmation goes to the email address on the Law School system (make sure it's accurate) within one hour indicating what courses you have requested every time you hit the submit button. Each will have a date and time stamp to indicate your most recent changes.

You may make changes to your course requests at any time during the week of early registration.

To find out which courses you have been awarded, visit the Early Registration Results on the Links for Current Students page, any time after the first day of the add/drop period.

To make changes to your schedule after early registration: Beginning the first day of the add/drop period, go to Registration, adds/drops or use the link by the same name via Links for Current Students page to access the University's registration system (ROSE). This system is open and available to students at different times during the registration period. For your particular access periods, please see Registration, adds/drops.

Advocacy Survey-Skills: The unique numbers are related to the night you will schedule with the Advocacy Coordinator. Be sure to include both Survey and Skills as two of your nine Course Requests, as you must take them concurrently. If you are not awarded Survey, you will not be awarded Skills.

Independent Study (Directed Research & Study, Directed Research & Study Teaching Assistant, or Clinic, Adv.): Do not include these courses in your course requests. If you are approved to take any of these courses (application required), you will be given access to add the course(s) during the add/drop periods.

Non-law courses: Non-law courses cannot be requested at this time. Non-law classes may be added on ROSE beginning the first day of the add/drop period. If you want to earn law school credit for the non-law course, you must obtain prior approval from the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs. The course must be a graduate level course or a language course and related to, but not duplicative of, courses offered in the law school. Forms are available in the Student Affairs Office, TNH 2.117. It may be possible to receive credit for an undergraduate language course, but you have to get special approval. Additionally, 2.5 undergraduate credits will generate only one JD credit. Please see our policy on JD credit for Non-Law courses for more information.

back to top


Course Scheduling Process

  1. Lists of all students requesting clinics are sent to supervising professors. They select who will be awarded each clinic before the rest of the course requests are randomly processed.
  2. Seminars are awarded in order of preference, by priority group, until they fill.
  3. For second- and third-year law students, the computer processes the first three course choices for each student record together, awarding reverse priority courses first. When all reverse priority courses are available for a student, the computer will schedule in priority order. It then processes all remaining courses in the order requested, until the student's schedule is full. Students in the same priority group are assigned random numbers for each course requested, ensuring that seats are awarded randomly regardless of the order in which the records are processed.

back to top