Skip Navigation

Participants

The Management Development Program is directed at those in supervisory or management positions interested in developing basic knowledge, skills, and abilities needed in Texas state agencies.

Location

Non-residential courses will be held in Austin, with regional courses being conducted at various locations around the state.

Tuition

Tuition is $675.00 for Austin, $725.00 for Regional classes. For information on and locations of regional training currently scheduled, please contact the Center at 512-475-8100. Tuition for the Management Program includes all program materials and breaks. Tuition DOES NOT include lodging and meals.

 

Management Development Program

Course Description

The Management Development Program (MDP) is a program designed for managers at all organizational levels who want to develop and/or enhance their understanding and practice of fundamental management principles in the context of today's challenging environment.

This course attracts an audience from a wide diversity of backgrounds, experience, and managerial levels who come together to discuss fundamental issues facing managers in today's complex organizations. The 3-day course is highly interactive and participant-centered. Instructors utilize a variety of teaching methods to actively involve participants and facilitate the learning process. The program focus is on the practical application of the management principles discussed. Graduates of the program return to their workplace with a written action plan to transform their learning into increased managerial effectiveness in the workplace

Outline/Topics

Management and Leadership Excellence

Examines basic principles and practices of management as they apply to today's workforce and explores management behaviors that contribute to personal and interpersonal effectiveness.

Personal Preferences and Leadership

Provides participants an opportunity to discover personal preferences, relate them to their management styles, and maximize their advantages in the workplace.

Can We Talk? Communication in the Workplace

Explores the art of effective communication in a diverse and ever changing workplace. Describes verbal language that promotes positive, supportive and inclusive communication.

Working Together Effectively

Identifies the fundamentals of team development and characteristics of effective team leaders. It also explores the sources and consequences of conflict and identifies methods to approach it constructively.

Managing Performance

Introduces coaching as a management tool and identifies strategies managers can use to improve employee performance.

Managing Personal & Organizational Change

Describes the human reaction to change and the impact of response to change. This session provides a toolbox for managing change and strategies for increasing resilience.

Management Development Program - Austin
Mon, 12/15/2014 - Wed, 12/17/2014 Register Now
Mon, 01/05/2015 - Wed, 01/07/2015 Register Now
Mon, 02/02/2015 - Wed, 02/04/2015 Register Now
Mon, 03/09/2015 - Wed, 03/11/2015 Register Now
Mon, 04/06/2015 - Wed, 04/08/2015 Register Now
Mon, 05/04/2015 - Wed, 05/06/2015 Register Now
Mon, 06/01/2015 - Wed, 06/03/2015 Register Now
Mon, 07/06/2015 - Wed, 07/08/2015 Register Now
Mon, 08/03/2015 - Wed, 08/05/2015 Register Now
Management Development Program - Regional
Tue, 03/03/2015 - Thu, 03/05/2015 Register Now
Tue, 03/17/2015 - Thu, 03/19/2015 Register Now
Tue, 05/12/2015 - Thu, 05/14/2015 Register Now
Mon, 06/15/2015 - Wed, 06/17/2015 Register Now
Tue, 06/23/2015 - Thu, 06/25/2015 Register Now
Tue, 07/21/2015 - Thu, 07/23/2015 Register Now