Skip Navigation

Current Ph.D. Students

Research Interests
Amelia Altz-Stamm Candidate amelia.altzstamm@utexas.edu Water management and administration in the Middle East, specifically in Jordan’s water sector
Sofia G. Ayala Candidate sofia_ayala@utexas.edu Regional and International Economic Development, Inequality, Advanced Quantitative Research Methods
Francisca Bogolasky Fliman Pre-candidacy fbogolasky@gmail.com Education and Urban Policy, specifically the link between the two
Selena Caldera Pre-candidacy s.caldera@utexas.edu
Christina Caramanis Pre-candidacy christina.caramanis@utexas.edu Social welfare policy, family policy and demography, poverty reduction, child development
Jaehee Choi Pre-candidacy jaeheec@gmail.com Inequality and labor market stratification, Social policy for working mothers
Eleanore Douglas Candidate edouglas@utexas.edu International Security, Defense Policy, Strategy
Noah Durst Pre-candidacy noahdurst@gmail.com Housing and land market dynamics in high poverty areas in Texas
Xue Gao Pre-candidacy feixue815@gmail.com Energy and environmental Policy, Climate Change Policy
James Hasik Candidate jhasik@jameshasik.com Military-industrial policy and strategy, global security challenges
Emily Kao Candidate ekao@utexas.edu Health policy, specifically regional healthcare delivery models, and the efficient delivery of quality emergency and trauma care services.
Nisha Krishnan Pre-candidacy nisha.krishnan1@gmail.com The intersection of development and the environment; climate change
Abby Lane Pre-candidacy abbyclane@utexas.edu Social welfare policy, family policy, poverty reduction, child development
Roger M. Miranda Candidate roger.miranda@tceq.texas.gov Common Pool Resources, Governance of Transboundary Water Resources, International Environmental Policy
Abigail Novak Pre-candidacy abby.novak@gmail.com Early intervention policies and programs intended to prevent early exposure to violence and/or trauma
Leonard O'Bryon Pre-candidacy lobryon@utexas.edu US foreign policy and national security, East Asian and Middle East affairs, international finance, and US economic and fiscal policy
Ilse Oehler Grediaga Pre-candidacy oehler.ilse@gmail.com Public Management, Performance Management Systems, Policy and Program Evaluation, Poverty, Inequality
Carlos Olmedo Candidate colmedo@utexas.edu Human capital and low income housing, US-Mexico border focus
Eliezer Poupko Candidate epoupko@utexas.edu Election Law and Policy, Democratic Theory, and Comparative Constitutional Design
D. "Cale" Reeves Pre-candidacy d.cale.reeves@gmail.com Residential adoption of decentralized energy resources in contexts with social, economic, and physical infrastructure networks
Megan Reiss Candidate megan.reiss@gmail.com International Security
Esther Reyes Pre-candidacy esther.reyes@utexas.edu Bureaucratic behavior, democracy, human rights, border enforcement policy
Jodi Rosenstein Pre-candidacy jodi.rosenstein@gmail.com Capturing best practices and lessons learned from the United States’ increasingly “interagency” stabilization operations
Ariel Schwartz Candidate ariel.schwartz@utexas.edu International Cooperation, Global Public Goods Provision, Development
Rachael Singer Pre-candidacy rachael.m.singer@gmail.com Neglected tropical diseases and infections of poverty, emerging infectious diseases and national security, medical education reform, and vaccine diplomacy.
Santiago Tellez Pre-candidacy sanalet@utexas.edu Governance issues in the education sector, in particular the effects of decentralization of education on students’ performance and inequality in Latin Americ
Rachel Veron Pre-candidacy rachel.veron@gmail.com Low-income family issues, higher education access and success, and state and regional workforce development and economic development innovation
Michael U. Villarreal Pre-candidacy muvillarreal@gmail.com Education policy; legislative decision making
Tom Vincent Pre-candidacy startdv@yahoo.com
Miha Vindis Pre-candidacy mvindis@utexas.edu Communications Technology and Digital Social Capital, Grand Strategy, Ethics & Leadership, Video Games and Policy
Ashlyn Webb Pre-candidacy ashlynwebb@utexas.edu The intersection of women’s political representation and issues of religious liberty