Skip Navigation

Current Ph.D. Students

Research Interests
Abigail Aiken Candidate araa2@utexas.edu Reproductive Health Policy, Fertility Demography, Unintended Pregnancy
Amelia Altz-Stamm Candidate amelia.altzstamm@utexas.edu Water management and administration in the Middle East, specifically in Jordan’s water sector
Sofia G. Ayala Candidate sofia_ayala@mail.utexas.edu Regional and International Economic Development, Inequality, Advanced Quantitative Research Methods
Rebecca Benson Candidate george.r@utexas.edu Health policy making and political influences on policy solutions to public health problems
Christina Caramanis Pre-candidacy christina.caramanis@utexas.edu
Gabriel Cardona-Fox Candidate gcardonafox@hotmail.com International Regime Formation, Global Governance, International Norm Diffusion
Jaehee Choi Pre-candidacy jaeheec@gmail.com Human capital development for youth and low-skilled workers, applied econometrics
Greg Cumpton Candidate gcumpton@austin.utexas.edu Postsecondary Transitions, Program Evaluation, Failing Schools and School Reform
Changgui Dong Candidate rosenbloog@gmail.com Energy Economics and Policy, Climate Change Policy
Eleanore Douglas Candidate edouglas@mail.utexas.edu International Security, Defense Policy, Strategy
Noah Durst Pre-candidacy noahdurst@gmail.com
Luis Fujiwara Candidate luisfujiwara@gmail.com Program and policy evaluation, Development Policy and Poverty Reduction Strategies, Gender Oriented Policy, Research Design and Methods especially those that combine quantitative and qualitative techniques (Q2)
James Hasik Pre-candidacy jhasik@jameshasik.com Military-industrial policy and strategy, global security challenges
Emily Kao Kopfensteiner Pre-candidacy ekopfensteiner@utexas.edu Health policy, specifically the efficient delivery of quality emergency care and trauma care services
Abby Lane Pre-candidacy abbyclane@utexas.edu Social welfare policy, family policy, poverty reduction, child development
Hans-Inge Lango Pre-candidacy hans.lango@utexas.edu International security, foreign policy, strategy
Aleksandra Malinowska Pre-candidacy malinowska.aleks@gmail.com Education & Immigration Policy
Kipyn Miller Pre-candidacy kipyn.miller@utexas.edu Public Health and Social Policy, Education Inequalities, Program Evaluation
Roger M. Miranda Pre-candidacy roger.miranda@tceq.texas.gov Common Pool Resources, Governance of Transboundary Water Resources, International Environmental Policy
Leonard O'Bryon Pre-candidacy lobryon@utexas.edu
Ilse Oehler Grediaga Pre-candidacy oehler.ilse@gmail.com Public Management, Performance Management Systems, Policy and Program Evaluation, Poverty, Inequality
Carlos Olmedo Pre-candidacy colmedo@mail.utexas.edu Labor and workforce development, wage inequality and program evaluation
Eliezer Poupko Candidate epoupko@utexas.edu Election Law and Policy, Democratic Theory, Constitutional Design
Alvaro Quezada-Hofflinger Candidate alvaroquezada@mail.utexas.edu Inequality, Latin America
Megan Reiss Pre-candidacy megan.reiss@gmail.com
Esther Reyes Pre-candidacy esther.reyes@utexas.edu
Ariel Schwartz Candidate ariel.schwartz@mail.utexas.edu International Cooperation, Global Public Goods Provision, Development
Todd Graham Smith Pre-candidacy toddgsmith@utexas.edu Sustainable Development, Poverty Reduction, Natural Resource Management, Africa
Santiago Tellez Pre-candidacy sanalet@utexas.edu
Michael U. Villarreal Pre-candidacy michael.villarreal@house.state.tx.us Education policy; legislative decision making
Tom Vincent Pre-candidacy startdv@yahoo.com
Miha Vindis Pre-candidacy mvindis@utexas.edu Application of history in contemporary policy analysis; role of new media in decision making; ethics and leadership