Skip Navigation

Current Ph.D. Students

Research Interests
Abigail Aiken Candidate araa2@utexas.edu Reproductive Health Policy, Fertility Demography, Unintended Pregnancy
Amelia Altz-Stamm Pre-candidacy amelia.altzstamm@utexas.edu Water management and administration in the Middle East, specifically in Jordan’s water sector
Sofia G. Ayala Candidate sofia_ayala@mail.utexas.edu Regional and International Economic Development, Inequality, Advanced Quantitative Research Methods
Rebecca Benson Pre-candidacy george.r@utexas.edu Health policy making and political influences on policy solutions to public health problems
Gabriel Cardona-Fox Candidate gcardonafox@hotmail.com International Regime Formation, Global Governance, International Norm Diffusion
Jaehee Choi Pre-candidacy jaeheec@gmail.com Human capital development for youth and low-skilled workers, applied econometrics
Jenna Cullinane Candidate jenna.cullinane@austin.utexas.edu Higher Education Policy, Economics of Education, International Comparative Policy Analysis
Greg Cumpton Candidate gcumpton@austin.utexas.edu Postsecondary Transitions, Program Evaluation, Failing Schools and School Reform
Changgui Dong Candidate rosenbloog@gmail.com Energy Economics and Policy, Climate Change Policy
Eleanore Douglas Candidate edouglas@mail.utexas.edu International Security, Defense Policy, Strategy
Rachel Douglas Pre-candidacy rachel.v.douglas@gmail.com Social and Economic Policy, Poverty, Social Networks
Luis Fujiwara Candidate luisfujiwara@gmail.com Program and policy evaluation, Development Policy and Poverty Reduction Strategies, Gender Oriented Policy, Research Design and Methods especially those that combine quantitative and qualitative techniques (Q2)
James Hasik Pre-candidacy jhasik@jameshasik.com Military-industrial policy and strategy, global security challenges
Emily Kao Kopfensteiner Pre-candidacy ekopfensteiner@utexas.edu Health policy, specifically the efficient delivery of quality emergency care and trauma care services
Mina Kumar Pre-candidacy mina.kumar@gmail.com Nonprofits and Philanthropy, Program Evaluation
Aleksandra Malinowska Pre-candidacy malinowska.aleks@gmail.com Education & Immigration Policy
Kipyn Miller Pre-candidacy kipyn.miller@utexas.edu Public Health and Social Policy, Education Inequalities, Program Evaluation
Roger M. Miranda Pre-candidacy roger.miranda@tceq.texas.gov Common Pool Resources, Governance of Transboundary Water Resources, International Environmental Policy
Carlos Olmedo Pre-candidacy colmedo@mail.utexas.edu Labor and workforce development, wage inequality and program evaluation
Eliezer Poupko Candidate epoupko@utexas.edu Election Law and Policy, Democratic Theory, Constitutional Design
Alvaro Quezada-Hofflinger Candidate alvaroquezada@mail.utexas.edu Inequality, Latin America
Megan Reiss Pre-candidacy megan.reiss@gmail.com
Ariel Schwartz Pre-candidacy ariel.schwartz@mail.utexas.edu International Cooperation, Global Public Goods Provision, Development
Todd Graham Smith Pre-candidacy toddgsmith@utexas.edu Sustainable Development, Poverty Reduction, Natural Resource Management, Africa
Michael U. Villarreal Pre-candidacy michael.villarreal@house.state.tx.us Education policy; legislative decision making
Tom Vincent Pre-candidacy startdv@yahoo.com
Miha Vindis Pre-candidacy mvindis@utexas.edu Application of history in contemporary policy analysis; role of new media in decision making; ethics and leadership
Wenjie Zhang Candidate wenjiez@gmail.com Economic Policy, Income Inequality, Social Stability