Dr. Eric Anslyn named 2006 Cope Scholar by the American Chemical Society

Jan. 4, 2006

AUSTIN, Texas—Dr. Eric Anslyn, Norman Hackerman professor of chemistry at The University of Texas at Austin, has been awarded the 2006 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award for his pioneering research in the fields of pattern recognition and supramolecular chemistry.

Anslyn, a University Distinguished Teaching Professor, will be awarded with a $40,000 unrestricted research grant and a $5,000 certificate for his achievements in organic chemistry.

Anslyn’s research focuses on the physical and bioorganic chemistry of synthetic and natural receptors and catalysts. By combining synthetic and molecular biology techniques, he has successfully mimicked the mammalian sense of taste and smell in analysis protocols. The new technique can be applied in environmental, industrial and medical diagnostics.

The Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award was established in 1984 by the American Chemical Society (ACS) Board of Directors to recognize and encourage excellence in organic chemistry. Established in 1876, ACS has more than 158,000 members from various fields of chemistry.

For more information contact: Lee Clippard, College of Natural Sciences, 512-232-0675.