Seven Faculty Members Selected to Receive President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Awards

Nov. 29, 2010

AUSTIN, Texas — Seven faculty members have been selected to receive the President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award for the 2010-2011 academic year at The University of Texas at Austin.

The award recognizes the consistent level of excellence the faculty members achieved in teaching undergraduate students.

The recipients include: Associate Professor Elizabeth Engelhardt, Department of American Studies, College of Liberal Arts; Professor Ami Pedahzur, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts; Associate Professor Kirsten Belgum, Department of Germanic Studies, College of Liberal Arts; Senior Lecturer Eve Nicols, program director in the Fashion Design Program, School of Human Ecology, College of Natural Sciences; Professor Steven Friesen, Department of Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts; Associate Professor Domino R. Perez, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Associate Professor Charters Wynn, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts.

Steven Leslie, provost of the university, said recipients of the teaching award each will receive a $5,000 honorarium and will be honored during a ceremony in spring 2011.

"Your commitment and outstanding performance, as well as your high academic standards, not only instruct but also inspire," Leslie said in his letter informing the faculty members they had been chosen for the award.

The awards are based upon selections received from the deans and department chairs in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Natural Sciences. All selections are reviewed by the vice provost, who then makes recommendations to the executive vice president and provost.

For more information, contact: Robert D. Meckel, Office of the President, 512 475 7847.

3 Comments to "Seven Faculty Members Selected to Receive President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Awards"

1.  Jason Shear said on Dec. 1, 2010

From the award list, which cites only one faculty in Natural Sciences and no one in the "hard" sciences, it appears this award is primarily targeted toward the Liberal Arts. Nothing wrong with that, though if true it would have been worth mentioning in the article.

2.  Fred Oswald said on Dec. 2, 2010

I still remember Kit Belgum from my undergraduate days - terrific teacher!!

3.  Tiffany Anthony said on Dec. 7, 2010

Any alumni besides myself that want to nominate Brent Iverson-Organic Chemistry???