Chemical Engineering Professor Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Feb. 10, 2011

AUSTIN, Texas — Keith P. Johnston, chemical engineering professor in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), one of the highest professional distinctions accorded to engineers worldwide.

Keith Johnston
Dr. Keith P. Johnston

With this year's election, the academy includes 2,290 members and 202 foreign associates.

Johnston was elected for his advances in science and technology of particles and colloids used in drug delivery, biomedical imaging and therapy, microelectronics and energy applications. He holds the M.C. (Bud) and Mary Beth Baird Endowed Chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering and has been a professor at the university since 1982.

"Dr. Johnston's election to the academy recognizes his valuable research and teaching that focuses on how to improve chemical processes that affect daily life," said Gregory L. Fenves, dean of the Cockrell School. "His research addresses such diversified areas as improving chemotherapy treatments, advancing the efficiency of high density electrical storage (for hybrids and electric cars) and decreasing chemical waste in our environment."

The Cockrell School has a tradition of faculty members who have been elected to the academy. The school's senior faculty constitute the fourth highest membership in the organization in the U.S. The Department of Chemical Engineering includes eight academy members.

"What's amazing about Dr. Johnston is his creativity and fearlessness. Every five or six years he plunges into a new research area, like green chemical processing or enhanced drug delivery, and he makes major contributions to all of them," said Department of Chemical Engineering Chair Roger Bonnecaze. "He is one of the reasons our department's research activities are on the forefront of science and technology and we are a top five program."

For more information, contact: Maria Arrellaga, communications director, Cockrell School of Engineering, 512 475 8123;  Marisa Meier, Department of Chemical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering College of Engineering, 512-471-3837.

4 Comments to "Chemical Engineering Professor Elected to National Academy of Engineering"

1.  Bill Williams said on Feb. 12, 2011

Outstanding achievement and well deserved! His advancements in the area of nanotechnology relating to drug delivery is truly changing lives today!

2.  sally johnston said on Feb. 14, 2011

Nanotechnology deals with little things... but your contributions to the science are HUGE! Great job, Keith!

3.  Mohsen Ahmadian said on Feb. 15, 2011

Congratulations Keith. This is an outstanding achievement.

4.  Steve Webber said on Feb. 16, 2011

Overdue really. I'm pleased to have been able to collaborate with Keith during my UT career.
Steve Webber (Prof. Chemistry emeritus)