Four Faculty Members Named to Academy of Distinguished Teachers

April 19, 2013

AUSTIN, Texas — Four faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin have been named to the university's respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2013, said Steven Leslie, executive vice president and provost.

They are:
• Sheldon Ekland-Olson, professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts; director, School of Human Ecology, College of Natural Sciences.
• Calvin Lin, professor, Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences.
• Juan Miro, professor, School of Architecture.
• Theresa O'Halloran, associate professor, Section of Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology, College of Natural Sciences.

“The academy is designed to recognize tenured faculty members who have made sustained and significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level,” Leslie said. “These four new members have earned the respect of peers, students and administrators for their outstanding teaching.”

The academy was created in 1995 to recognize tenured faculty members who throughout their careers have maintained significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level.

Membership is limited to 5 percent of tenured faculty. Members remain in the academy for the duration of their time at the university.

The faculty members were named to the academy based on recommendations from an ad hoc faculty and student committee that reviewed nominations of faculty members. Deans nominate faculty members with input from others in the faculty, students and academy members from their departments.

With the 2013 class, the academy has 119 members and 17 former members.

Academy members receive the title "Distinguished Academy Professor" and a permanent $7,000 annual academic salary increase, effective the following academic year.

A banquet is held each fall to welcome new members of the academy. The president of the university and provost attend and present new members with a certificate and bronze medallion.

The academy serves as an advisory group to the executive vice president and provost on teaching excellence and will provide institutional leadership and guidance for the distinctive undergraduate experience available in our research university environment

For more information, contact: Tim Green, Office of the Vice President for Research.