University of Texas at Austin Experts Offer Insights on Brazil

June 20, 2014

As the world’s attention focuses on the 2014 FIFA World Cup, The University of Texas at Austin offers the following faculty experts working in areas related to Brazil. All of these faculty members are affiliated with the university’s Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, one of the leading centers in the world for the study of Latin America.

Media and Culture

Rosental Alves
Professor and Knight Chair in Journalism, School of Journalism
512-471-6851
rosental.alves@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Media and freedom of the press
 
Jason Borge
Associate Professor, Department of Spanish & Portuguese
512-232-4542
jason.borge@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Film and culture
 
Joe Straubhaar
Professor of Communication, Department of Radio-Television-Film
512-471-5304
jdstraubhaar@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Film and TV 

Social Policy

Wendy Hunter
Professor, Department of Government
512-232-7247
wendyhunter@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Social policy issues in Latin America, politics of education and health reform
 
Leticia Marteleto
Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology
512-471-8302
marteleto@prc.utexas.edu
Research Area: Social inequality
 
Joe Potter
Professor, Department of Sociology and Population Research Center
512-471-8341
joe@prc.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Health and reproductive rights

Urban Brazil 

Fernando Lara
Associate Professor, School of Architecture
512-471-0711
fernandolara@utexas.edu
Research Areas: Latin American architecture, Latin American urbanism, favelas (Brazilian slums) and sustainability

 
Lorraine Leu
Associate Professor, LLILAS and Department of Spanish & Portuguese
512-471-8770
lorraine.leu@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Culture and urban Brazil

Energy Issues

Eugenio Arima
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography & the Environment
512-471-0714
arima@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Land use, land use change, sociopolitics of land use
 
William Fisher
Leonidas T. Barrow Centennial Chair in Mineral Resources, Department of Geological Sciences
512-471-5600
wfisher@mail.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Petroleum exploration and assessment

Education System 

Pat Somers
Associate Professor, College of Education
512-471-7551
pasomers@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Access and persistence in Brazilian higher education; affirmative action and admissions in Brazil

Racial Tensions 

Christen Smith
Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies, and Center for African and African American Studies
512-232-6332
christen.smith@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Racial formation, black liberation and resistance in Brazil

João Vargas
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology and Department of African and African Diaspora Studies
512-232-6591
costavargas@austin.utexas.edu
Research Areas: Race, social inequality and cultural studies

For more information, contact: University Communications, Office of the President, 512 471 3151;  Susanna Sharpe, Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, College of Liberal Arts, 512-232-2403.