2003-2004 Fellows

picture of dominic smith
picture of William Cobb
Dominic Smith
William J. Cobb

The winners of the Dobie Paisano writing fellowships for 2003-2004 are Dominic Smith, a fiction writer who lives in Austin, and William J. Cobb, a native Texan, who is a novelist, essayist, and short fiction writer. He teaches writing at Pennsylvania State University.

The fellowships, sponsored by The University of Texas at Austin and the Texas Institute of Letters, allow writers to spend six months at Paisano, the late author J. Frank Dobie's 254-acre retreat west of Austin, now owned and maintained by The University of Texas at Austin.

Smith, who will hold the Ralph Johnston Memorial Fellowship, will begin residence at Paisano in September. Cobb will hold the Jesse Jones Writing Fellowship and begin residency at Paisano in March 2004.

Dominic Smith grew up in Australia. He recently graduated from the Michener Center for Writers with an MFA in fiction and screenwriting. His stories and essays have been published in Australia and the US, most recently with Imago, the Iowa Journal of Cultural Studies, and Mid-American Review. He received the 2002 Sherwood Anderson Fiction Prize and placed third in the 2003 Raymond Carver Short Story Award, judged by Robert Olen Butler. He has just completed his first novel, The Beautiful Miscellaneous, and plans to spend his residency at Paisano working on a new novel.

William J. Cobb's work has been published in The New Yorker, The Mississippi Review, American Short Fiction, The Antioch Review, and many others. His first novel, The Fire Eaters, was published by W.W. Norton in 1994, and his book of short stories, The White Tattoo, won the Sandstone Prize and was published in 2002 by the Ohio State University Press. He has been the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, an Associated Writing Programs award for the novel, and a Donald Barthelme Memorial Award in Nonfiction. Born in Texas City, he attended Southwest Texas State University, the University of Texas, and received his PhD from the University of Houston's writing program.

The runners-up for the fellowships are Alexander Parsons, a fiction writer, who is now an Assistant Professor of English at the University of New Hampshire, and Philip Pardi, a poet, who just completed an MFA from the Michener Center for Writers at The University of Texas at Austin.