The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation
  UT Home
       
Collapse Menu

University Communications: Experts Guide

 

Search

  Expand Menu

Browse by

 

Hot Topics

 

News Media Contacts

 

Media Relations Main

Media Relations
Reps: Log in


Faculty: Request
Profile Update


Search Results

Search results for keyword(s) 'Economics' .

Robert Auerbach
Robert Auerbach, Ph.D.
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-8751
E-mail: auerbach@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Money and banking; macroeconomics; applied econometrics; business, economics & labor; monetary and fiscal policy; The Federal Reserve
Ronen Avraham
Ronen Avraham, LLM, SJD
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1357
E-mail: RAVRAHAM@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
Torts, Tort Reform, Healthcare Reform, Insurance Law, Law and Economics
Eric Bickel
Eric Bickel
Assistant Professor
Mechanical Engineering
Cockrell School of Engineering

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512 232 8316
E-mail: ebickel@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Decision making under uncertainty; value of information; economics; business strategy; energy and climate policy
Leigh Boske
Leigh Boske, Ph.D.
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3305
E-mail: leigh.boske@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
National and international transport policy; international trade; economics; finance; multimodal/intermodal transport planning
Elsie Echeverri-Carroll
Elsie Echeverri-Carroll, Ph.D.
Research Professor; Director Economic Development Program
Bureau of Business Research
IC2 Institute

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-7811
E-mail: e.carroll@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Mexico; Economics--Trade Latin America Economic Integration Wage Inequalities High-technology clusters; Gender Issues--Women in business
Kenneth Flamm
Kenneth Flamm, Ph.D.
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8952
E-mail: kflamm@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Science and technology policy; computer communications and semiconductor industries; international trade and investment; defense industry and technology; economics of R&D; business; information technology economics
Michelle Foss
Michelle Foss, Ph.D., University of Houston
Chief Energy Economist
Bureau of Economic Geology
Jackson School of Geosciences

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (713) 654-5400
E-mail: michelle.foss@beg.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Liquified natural gas (LNG), energy markets, energy economics, oil and gas markets, energy prices.
James  Galbraith
James Galbraith, Ph.D.
Professor of Public Affairs and Government
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-1244
E-mail: Galbraith@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Macroeconomic policy; monetary policy, economic development policies; comparative economic policy; economic inequality
Thomas Gilligan
Thomas Gilligan, Ph.D.
Dean
Office of the Dean
McCombs School of Business

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-5058
E-mail: dean.gilligan@mccombs.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Economics, fiscal policy, price theory, antitrust economics, deficit, public spending
William Glade
William Glade, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Economics
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512.471.3211
E-mail: glade@eco.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Economic development in Latin America; comparative economic systems;economics of the arts and cultural policy; international cultural relations
Daniel Hamermesh
Daniel Hamermesh, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Economics
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-8526
E-mail: hamermes@eco.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Labor demand, time use, social insurance programs (particularly unemployment insurance) and unusual applications of labor economics (to suicide, sleep and beauty)Labor markets; unemployment; wages inequality; Social Security; demographic issues, business.
 
Glynn Harmon, Ph.D.
Professor
School of Information

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3972
E-mail: gharmon@gslis.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Information science; cognition; biomedical informatics; information economics; information management; information networks; aviation history; flight dynamics
Fred Heath
Fred Heath, Ed.D.
Vice Provost and Director
University of Texas Libraries

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-495-4573
E-mail: fheath@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Information access; digital libraries, LibQual; library service issues; library management; economics of scholarly publishing
Clement Henry
Clement Henry, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-7210 or 512-471-5121
E-mail: chenry@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Political economy; comparative politics; Middle East and North Africa - esp. Algeria Egypt Morocco Tunisia; politics of international oil; Islamic financial systems; commercial banking systems in the MENA; business, economics & labor.
Henry  Hu
Henry Hu, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1373
E-mail: hhu@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Law and economics of corporate and international finance; swaps; derivatives; securities; banking; corporate governance; hedge funds; mutual funds; new financial products and financial innovation; corporate hedging investment and risk management; business, economics & labor.
Calvin Johnson
Calvin Johnson, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1306
E-mail: chjohnson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Federal tax law; constitutional law; accounting; business, economics & labor.
Ethan Kapstein
Ethan Kapstein
Tom Slick Professor in International Affairs
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-9324
E-mail: ekapstein@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Defense economics, International Relations
Karrol Kitt
Karrol Kitt, Ph.D.;CFP
Associate Professor
Deparment of Human Development and Family Sciences
College of Natural Sciences

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-0809
E-mail: kkitt@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Personal Finance (Insurance, cash management, spending plans, financial spreadsheets, credit, financial behavior); Family Resource Management (values, standards, & goals; mananging change; decision making; organization; work at home & at the workplace)
Larry Lake
Larry Lake, Ph.D.
Interim Department Chair, W.A.(Monty) Moncrief Centennial Endowed Chair in Petroleum Engineering & Professor
Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering
Cockrell School of Engineering

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8233
E-mail: Larry_Lake@pe.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Enhanced oil recovery; Reservoir engineering; Reservoir characterization; Geochemical modeling; Simulation
Sheila Olmstead
Sheila Olmstead
Associate Professor of Public Affairs
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-2064
E-mail: Olmstead, Sheila Msheila.olmstead@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Energy Policy Energy Water Nexus Evaluation of energy and water conservation programs Water Policy Environmental Policy Climate change Econometrics Economics Energy Environment Natural resource management
Gary Pope
Gary Pope, Ph.D.
Texaco Centennial Chair
Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering
Cockrell School of Engineering

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3235
E-mail: gpope@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Enhanced oil recovery; Reservoir engineering; Fluid flow in porous media; Numerical simulation; Phase behavior and fluid properties; Water soluble polymers; Surfactants; Surfactant enhanced aquifer remediation; Characterization of NAPLs in groundwater; Use of tracers for characterization of aquifers
David Prindle
David Prindle, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-7214
E-mail: dprindle@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Politics of Hollywood; American politics (elections, Presidency, Congress)
William  Sage
William Sage, J.D., M.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-7806
E-mail: bsage@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Health law, regulatory theory, antitrust, and professional responsibility.
Thomas Schatz
Thomas Schatz, Ph.D.
Professor
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-5987
E-mail: tschatz@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Film and television history and criticism; media industry studies (history, economics, etc.); Hollywood studios and the ''studio system''; film genre
Philip Schmidt
Philip Schmidt, Ph.D.
Associate Department Chair for Undergraduate Programs & Professor
Mechanical Engineering
Cockrell School of Engineering

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3118
E-mail: pschmidt@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Industrial electrotechnology applications and economics; Industrial energy management and conservation; Project-based engineering instruction
Mukul Sharma
Mukul Sharma, Ph.D.
Department Chair, W.A. "Tex" Moncrief, Jr. Centennial Chair & Professor
Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering
Cockrell School of Engineering

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3257
E-mail: msharma@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Formation damage; Petrophysics; Fluid flow in porous media
George Sylvie
George Sylvie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-1783
E-mail: g.sylvie@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Media management; Internet newspaper economics; motivation and satisfaction in the newsroom; change and newspapers; newspaper organizational cooperation; technology''s role in media management; black press economics; mass media and minorities; newspaper reporting and editing; communication; journalism
Sheridan Titman
Sheridan Titman, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Finance
McCombs School of Business

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-2787
E-mail: titman@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Corporate finance, energy, finance, real estate and investments, business, economics & labor, environment & earth science
Philip Uri Treisman
Philip Uri Treisman, Ph.D.
Director, Charles A. Dana Center
Department of Mathematics
College of Natural Sciences

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-1148
E-mail: uri@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Education Policy; mathematics education; economics of education; educational equity; education program design and evaluation volunteerism
Michael Walton
Michael Walton, Ph.D.
Professor
Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
Cockrell School of Engineering

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-1414
E-mail: cmwalton@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Transportation system engineering planning economics and policy analysis; intelligent transportation systems; intermodal/combined transport; commercial vehicle operations; institutional arrangements
David Warner
David Warner, Ph.D.
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-6277
E-mail: david.warner@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Health policy; health finance; diabetes costs; border health; health insurance; mental health policy; Mexican health system; business, economics & labor.
Abraham Wickelgren
Abraham Wickelgren , PhD, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1904
E-mail: awickelgren@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Antitrust law, antitrust economics, contracts, and law and economics.


  Updated 14 June 2013
  Comments to University Communications
  Post Office Box Z • Austin, TX 78713-8926 • 512-471-3151
  Accessibility  •  Privacy