The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation
  UT Home
       
Collapse Menu

University Communications: Experts Guide

 

Search

  Expand Menu

Browse by

 

Hot Topics

 

News Media Contacts

 

Media Relations Main

Media Relations
Reps: Log in


Faculty: Request
Profile Update


Search Results

Search results for keyword(s) 'Literacy' .

Randy Bomer
Randy Bomer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Curriculum and Instruction - Language and Literacy Studies
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-4861
E-mail: rbomer@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Writing; politics of literacy; sociocultural theory; curricula in reading and writing
Jerome Bump
Jerome Bump, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of English
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8747
E-mail: bump@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Literature; nature writing; emotional literacy; family systems and literature; Victorian literature, especially the interaction with India; Gerard Manley Hopkins; computers and English studies, including social networking and multi-player online games
Rebecca  Callahan
Rebecca Callahan, Ph.D.
Asst Professor
Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8347
E-mail: callahan@prc.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Bilingual Education, immigrant adolescents' academic preparation, language minority students and students identified with learning disabilities in the STEM pipeline, language policy in education, immigrant adolescents' civic development, the transition to young adulthood among immigrants.
Davida Charney
Davida Charney, Ph.D.
Professor of Rhetoric and Writing
Department of Rhetoric and Writing
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8746
E-mail: dcharney@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Scientific writing; scientific argument; writing processes in adults; reading processes in adults; argument theory; rhetoric; composition; technical writing; proposal writing; computer manuals; usability testing; document design; empirical research methods
Maria Franquiz
Maria Franquiz, PhD
Associate Professor
Curriculum and Instruction: Bilingual and Bicultural Education
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-5670
E-mail: mfranquiz@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Bilingual education; biliteracy; ethnographic and sociolinguistic research; Latina/o children''s and adolescent literature; migrant education; Latina/o teacher identity
Jim Hoffman
Jim Hoffman, PhD
Professor
Curriculum and Instruction: Language and Literacy Studies
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-5267
E-mail: jhoffman@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Literacy education; reading education; teacher preparation
Elaine Horwitz
Elaine Horwitz, PhD
Professor
Curriculum and Instruction: Foreign Language Education
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-4108
E-mail: horwitz@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Foreign language anxiety; learner beliefs about language learning, language learning strategies
 
Michael Mackert, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Advertising
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512 471 8558
E-mail: mackert@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Telemedicine, health communication, health literacy and online communities.
Beth Maloch
Beth Maloch, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Teacher Education, Student Affairs & Administration
Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3476
E-mail: bmaloch@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Ramon Martinez
Ramon Martinez, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-2806
E-mail: martinez@utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Nancy Roser
Nancy Roser, Ed.D.
Professor
Curriculum and Instrction
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-2805
E-mail: nlroser@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Loriene Roy
Loriene Roy, Ph.D.
Professor
School of Information

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3959
E-mail: loriene@gslis.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Library development in Native American communities; creation of virtual museums of Native American artifacts; literacy efforts in Native American communities; library collection development and evaluation; oral tradition; organizing gatherings of indigenous librarians worldwide
Margaret Syverson
Margaret Syverson , Ph.D.
Director, Digital Writing and Research Lab
Department of Rhetoric and Writing
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8734
E-mail: syverson@uts.cc.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Writing; technology; literacy; teaching and learning; impact of technology on culture; information architecture; knowledge ecology; virtual environments; Web development; MOOs and MUDs; cognitive science; assessment, the Online Learning Record
 
Kathleen Tyner, M.A.
Associate Professor
Department of Radio-TV-Film
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3852
E-mail: ktyner@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Media literacy, media education, educational technology, literacy, new media and learning, children and media, youth media.
Sharon Vaughn
Sharon Vaughn, Ph.D.
H.E.Hartfelder/Southland Corp Regents Chair of Human Development
Special Education
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-2320
E-mail: srvaughn@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Learning disabilities; reading problems; self-concept; diverse learners; inclusion practices
Melissa  Wetzel
Melissa Wetzel, Ed.D.
Associate Professor
Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1423
E-mail: mmwetzel@utexas.edu

EXPERTISE


  Updated 14 June 2013
  Comments to University Communications
  Post Office Box Z • Austin, TX 78713-8926 • 512-471-3151
  Accessibility  •  Privacy