The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation
  UT Home
       
Collapse Menu

University Communications: Experts Guide

 

Search

  Expand Menu

Browse by

 

Hot Topics

 

News Media Contacts

 

Media Relations Main

Media Relations
Reps: Log in


Faculty: Request
Profile Update


Search Results

Search results for keyword(s) 'international' .

Rosental Alves
Rosental Alves, B.A.
Professor
School of Journalism
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-6851
E-mail: rosental.alves@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International journalism; foreign correspondence; Latin American studies; Brazilian studies; online journalism; communication; freedom of the press
Leigh Boske
Leigh Boske, Ph.D.
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3305
E-mail: leigh.boske@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
National and international transport policy; international trade; economics; finance; multimodal/intermodal transport planning
Josh Busby
Josh Busby, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Public Affairs
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8946
E-mail: busbyj@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Climate change; HIV/AIDS; international development; energy policy; international organizations; global public health
Mounira Charrad
Mounira Charrad, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Departments of Sociology and Middle Eastern Studies
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-6311; 512-471-1122
E-mail: charrad@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Gender; Womens Rights; Islam and Family Law; States and Citizenship; Middle East; North Africa; political sociology; development; and comparative historical methodology
Tracy Dahlby
Tracy Dahlby, MA
Frank A. Bennack Jr. Chair in Journalism
School of Journalism
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 471-6272
E-mail: tdahlby@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Journalism and media criticism; coverage of international affairs, including Northeast and Southeast Asia; coverage of U.S. relations with Asia.
James Denbow
James Denbow, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8512
E-mail: jdenbow@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Archaeology; anthropology; African history; African cultures; African languages; Kalahari desert; Congo prehistory; southern African socieites; African Iron Age and Neolithic studies; Great Zimbabwe and its development
John Doggett
John Doggett, J.D. / MBA
Senior Lecturer
Department of Management
McCombs School of Business

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-7671
E-mail: john.doggett@mccombs.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International entrepreneurship, global competition, sustainability, energy
Edwin Dorn
Edwin Dorn, Ph.D.
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3200
E-mail: eddorn@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International affairs; national security/ defense policy; human resources policy (especially military personnel); civil rights/ race relations; policy making (especially the executive branch); federal education policy; African politics, business
Ariel Dulitzky
Ariel Dulitzky , J.D., LLM
Clinical Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1256
E-mail: ADULITZKY@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
International human rights law; Latin America.
John Dzienkowski
John Dzienkowski, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1367
E-mail: jdzienkowski@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Professional responsibility of lawyers, real property, international energy transactions, and oil and gas taxation.
David Eaton
David Eaton, Ph.D.
Bess Harris Jones Centennial Professor in Natural Resource Policy Studies
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8972
E-mail: eaton@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
sustainable development in international river basins; evaluations of energy and water conservation; U.S.-Mexico environmental cooperation; new methods of evaluating and preventing air pollution emissions; water conservation in Texas
Elsie Echeverri-Carroll
Elsie Echeverri-Carroll, Ph.D.
Research Professor; Director Economic Development Program
Bureau of Business Research
IC2 Institute

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-7811
E-mail: e.carroll@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Mexico; Economics--Trade Latin America Economic Integration Wage Inequalities High-technology clusters; Gender Issues--Women in business
Veit  Erlmann
Veit Erlmann, Ph.D.
Professor
College of Fine Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-2092
E-mail: erlmann@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Ethnomusicology; African culture
Kenneth Flamm
Kenneth Flamm, Ph.D.
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8952
E-mail: kflamm@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Science and technology policy; computer communications and semiconductor industries; international trade and investment; defense industry and technology; economics of R&D; business; information technology economics
William Glade
William Glade, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Economics
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512.471.3211
E-mail: glade@eco.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Economic development in Latin America; comparative economic systems;economics of the arts and cultural policy; international cultural relations
Patricia Hansen
Patricia Hansen, J.D., M.P.A.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1321
E-mail: phansen@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International trade law; North American Free Trade Agreement; business.
Jennifer Hazen
Jennifer Hazen
Research Fellow
Office of the Vice President for Research

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-6151
E-mail: jmhazen@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
U.S. Foreign Policy
Clement Henry
Clement Henry, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-7210 or 512-471-5121
E-mail: chenry@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Political economy; comparative politics; Middle East and North Africa - esp. Algeria Egypt Morocco Tunisia; politics of international oil; Islamic financial systems; commercial banking systems in the MENA; business, economics & labor.
Henry  Hu
Henry Hu, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1373
E-mail: hhu@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Law and economics of corporate and international finance; swaps; derivatives; securities; banking; corporate governance; hedge funds; mutual funds; new financial products and financial innovation; corporate hedging investment and risk management; business, economics & labor.
Thomas Hunt
Thomas Hunt, J.D. and Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Kinesiology and Health Education
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-0994
E-mail: thomas_m_hunt@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Sport policy, law, and history; international relations; international politics and diplomacy; drugs and doping in sport; the Olympic Movement.
Kristine Huskey
Kristine Huskey, J.D.
Adjunct Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office:
E-mail: khuskey@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International human rights, national security and the war on terrorism.
Robert Hutchings
Robert Hutchings
Dean
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-4004
E-mail: rhutchings@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
European politics, Global Security Studies, Transatlantic relations, Europe, U.S. Foreign Policy
Bobby Inman
Bobby Inman, USN (Ret.)
Lyndon B. Johnson Centennial Chair in National Policy
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-6716
E-mail: inman@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
national security; intelligence; international trade; technological innovation; business
 
Martin Jackson, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist
Bureau of Economic Geology
Jackson School of Geosciences

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-9548
E-mail: martin.jackson@beg.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Salt tectonics thin-skinned deformation and related petroleum traps; structural analysis and seismic interpretation of sedimentary tectonics; experimental modeling; environment & earth science; oil and gas.
Derek Jinks
Derek Jinks, M.A., J.D.

School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1265
E-mail: djinks@law.ut.exas.edu

EXPERTISE
Public International law, international humanitarian law, human rights law, and criminal law.
Barbara  Jones
Barbara Jones, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
School of Social Work

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-9367
E-mail: barbarajones@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Pediatric palliative and end-of-life care, grief and loss, childhood cancer survivors, hope and resiliency, spirituality and international social work
Ethan Kapstein
Ethan Kapstein
Tom Slick Professor in International Affairs
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-9324
E-mail: ekapstein@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Defense economics, International Relations
Ward Keeler
Ward Keeler, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512 471-8520
E-mail: ward.keeler@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Anthropology and performing arts; Southeast Asia; Indonesia (Java Bali) Burma; Indonesian language and culture (Indonesian Javanese Balinese); gamelan
Alan Kuperman
Alan Kuperman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Public Affairs
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-8245
E-mail: akuperman!mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Ethnic conflict, U.S. military intervention, nuclear proliferation, humanitarian intervention, America foreign policy
Janice Leoshko
Janice Leoshko, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
College of Fine Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-7757
E-mail: jleoshko@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Asian art history; Asian culture; Indian and Tibetan religions, Arts & Humanities.
Patricia  Maclachlan
Patricia Maclachlan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1724
E-mail: pmaclachlan@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Consumerism in advanced industrial democracies, with a focus on Japan; the reform of the Japanese postal system and the political power of the commissioned postmasters, Comparative politics, Japanese politics and society, international relations of the Asia Pacific.
Jane Maxwell
Jane Maxwell, Ph.D.
Senior Research Professor
School of Social Work

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-0610
E-mail: jcmaxwell@sbcglobal.net

EXPERTISE
Research in trends and patterns of substance abuse in Texas, nationally and internationally with special interest on the U.S./Mexico border; research in patterns of use and abuse of methamphetamine, party drugs, methadone and other opiate drugs; impaired driving programs and abuse of prescription drugs.
Linda Mullenix
Linda Mullenix, J.D.;Ph.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1375
E-mail: lmullenix@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Mass tort litigation; class action litigation; federal civil procedure; federal courts; professional responsibility
J. Patrick Olivelle
J. Patrick Olivelle, Ph.D.
Jacob and Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities
Department of Asian Studies
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-5811
E-mail: jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
History of Sanskrit Literature; Law and Society in India; Methods in Study of Religion; Sanskrit Culture; History of Hindu Religious Traditions; Ancient to Medieval Indian cultural history.
Ami Pedahzur
Ami Pedahzur, PhD
Professor
Departments of Government and Middle Eastern Studies
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1452
E-mail: pedahzur@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Terrorism, counterterrorism, political extremism, decision making, security studies, social networks, mixed research methods, Israel, political extremism in Israel, political violence, political parties, comparative politics and international relations.
Sharon Strover
Sharon Strover, Ph.D.
Professor
Radio-TV-Film
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-6652
E-mail: sstrover@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
The Information Society; telecommunications policy, including telephone cable and satellite systems; international cultural policy with respect to film and television; and the digital divide.
Michael Sturley
Michael Sturley, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1350
E-mail: msturley@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Admiralty and maritime law particularly the commercial aspects of maritime law (such as the international carriage of goods by sea); Supreme Court practice particularly on certiorari
Jeremi Suri
Jeremi Suri
Mack Brown Distinguished Chair for Leadership in Global Affairs
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-7242
E-mail: suri@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International Security Domestic Politics Modern International Relations Globalization and International Affairs Protest and Dissident Movements
Gerald Torres
Gerald Torres, LL.M.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1368
E-mail: gtorres@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Agricultural and environmental law (Domestic and International); Indian law; civil rights; critical race theory;
Peter Ward
Peter Ward, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Sociology
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-6302
E-mail: peter.ward@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Urban sociology and planning; low-income housing policy; development theory and social policy; contemporary Mexican politics; Latin America
Jay Westbrook
Jay Westbrook, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1303
E-mail: jwestbrook@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Bankruptcy; international business litigation and arbitration; commercial law especially Article 9; secured credit
Kurt Weyland
Kurt Weyland, Ph.D.
Lozano Long Professor of Latin American Politics
Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-7253
E-mail: kweyland@mail.la.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Democratization, market reform, social policy and policy diffusion, and populism in Latin America, social and economic policy for Latin America, especially Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Peru and Venezuela
Robert Woodberry
Robert Woodberry, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Sociology
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-6308
E-mail: bobwood@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Impact of missionaries and different colonial governments on education, economic development and democracy in post-colonial societies; spread of religious liberty; international diffusion of social movements; religious influences on political institutions and the economy; religious attitudes of elites; religious tolerance
Ming Zhang
Ming Zhang, PhD
Assistant Professor
School of Architecture

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 471-0139
E-mail: zhangm@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Urban transportation planning, urban form and travel behavior, GIS applications in planning, international planning
Mercedes de Uriarte
Mercedes de Uriarte, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
School of Journalism
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-1979
E-mail: merlyn@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Minorities and media; U.S. foreign coverage; U.S. crisis coverage of Latin America; newsroom diversity; history of U.S. press; feminism


  Updated 14 June 2013
  Comments to University Communications
  Post Office Box Z • Austin, TX 78713-8926 • 512-471-3151
  Accessibility  •  Privacy