The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation
  UT Home
       
Collapse Menu

University Communications: Experts Guide

 

Search

  Expand Menu

Browse by

 

Hot Topics

 

News Media Contacts

 

Media Relations Main

Media Relations
Reps: Log in


Faculty: Request
Profile Update


Search Results

Search results for keyword(s) 'law' .

David  Adelman
David Adelman, JD, PhD
Lecturer
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-0877
E-mail: DADELMAN@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
Environmental law, climate change law and policy, patent law
John Allison
John Allison, J.D.
Professor
Department of Business, Government and Society
McCombs School of Business

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-789-6580
E-mail: john.allison@mccombs.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Intellectual property rights, patents, patent infringement, trade secrets, law & technology, cyberlaw
David Anderson
David Anderson, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1365
E-mail: danderson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Torts, mass communications law, and the law of libel and privacy.
Ronen Avraham
Ronen Avraham, LLM, SJD
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1357
E-mail: RAVRAHAM@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
Torts, Tort Reform, Healthcare Reform, Insurance Law, Law and Economics
William Beardall
William Beardall, J.D.
Adjunct Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 474-0007
E-mail: BBEARDALL@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
Wage rights and policy; Low-wage workers; Immigrant workers; Guest workers; Immigrant worker rights and issues; Immigration reform; Legal aid for low-income persons; Public interest law; Law school clinics;
Mitchell Berman
Mitchell Berman, MA, JD
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-3525
E-mail: mberman@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
constitutional theory, criminal law, sports
Lynn Blais
Lynn Blais, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1334
E-mail: lblais@law.,utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Environmental law, adminstrative law, and property.
Terrell Blodgett
Terrell Blodgett, M.S.P.A
Professor
LBJ School of Public Affairs

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 5l2-474-76l2
E-mail: blodgett@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Local and state government management, operations, and political structures; election methods of governing bodies in local government; nonprofit management
Robert  Bone
Robert Bone , J.D.
Professor
Law
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-5562
E-mail: RBONE@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
Class action, federal civil procedure, complex litigation, and intellectual property, especially trademark and trade secret law.
Oren Bracha
Oren Bracha, LLB, SJD
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-9325
E-mail: obracha@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Intellectual property, cyberlaw, legal history and legal theory.
Norma Cantu
Norma Cantu, J.D.
Professor of Law and Education
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-7111
E-mail: METROCAN2@AOL.COM

EXPERTISE
Civil rights, education law, disbility law, school reform, and the intersection of law and policy in education.
Wanda Cash
Wanda Cash
Clinical Professor
School of Journalism
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-1965
E-mail: wgcash@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Journalism; Freedom of Information Act; freedom of the press; community newspapers; public access to court records; open government, newspaper management
Mounira Charrad
Mounira Charrad, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Departments of Sociology and Middle Eastern Studies
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-6311; 512-471-1122
E-mail: charrad@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Gender; Womens Rights; Islam and Family Law; States and Citizenship; Middle East; North Africa; political sociology; development; and comparative historical methodology
Robert  Chesney
Robert Chesney, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1298
E-mail: RCHESNEY@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
National security law and policy; terrorism (history, law, policy); law of war; federal criminal law relating to national security; intelligence and the law; constitutional law.
Mechele Dickerson
Mechele Dickerson, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-5151 (main #)
E-mail: mdickerson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Bankruptcy, consumer debt, and the U.S. housing crisis.
George Dix
George Dix, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1328
E-mail: gdix@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Criminal law, criminal procedure, and law and psychiatry.
 
Philip Doty, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
School of Information

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3746
E-mail: pdoty@uts.cc.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Internet and computer networks, copyright, privacy laws, governmental information policy, Patriot Act and digitial libraries
Justin Driver
Justin Driver, MA, JD
Assistant Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-0878
E-mail: jdriver@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Constitutional Law and the intersection of race with legal institutions.
Ariel Dulitzky
Ariel Dulitzky , J.D., LLM
Clinical Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1256
E-mail: ADULITZKY@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
International human rights law; Latin America.
John Dzienkowski
John Dzienkowski, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1367
E-mail: jdzienkowski@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Professional responsibility of lawyers, real property, international energy transactions, and oil and gas taxation.
Julius Getman
Julius Getman, L.L.M.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1719
E-mail: jgetman@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Labor law, employment law, higher education
John  Golden
John Golden, J.D., PhD
Assistant Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1469
E-mail: jgolden@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Patent law, intellectual property, administrative law.
Steven Goode
Steven Goode, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1331
E-mail: sgoode@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Evidence; criminal law; professional responsibility & ethics with emphasis on privileges and confidentiality; communication.
Lino Graglia
Lino Graglia, L.L.B.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1363
E-mail: lgraglia@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Constitutional law; antitrust; federalism; role of courts; race discrimination
Benjamin  Gregg
Benjamin Gregg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-7274
E-mail: bgregg@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Democracy, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Political Theory, Liberalism, Socialism, Marxism, Conservatism, Fascism
Patricia Hansen
Patricia Hansen, J.D., M.P.A.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1321
E-mail: phansen@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International trade law; North American Free Trade Agreement; business.
Kelly Haragan
Kelly Haragan, J.D.
Adjunct Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-2654
E-mail: KHARAGAN@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
Environmental law, Clean Air Act, air permitting
Barbara Hines
Barbara Hines, J.D.
Clinical Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1310
E-mail: bhines@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Immigration law, constitutional and statutory rights of immigrants in federal and immigration courts.
Henry  Hu
Henry Hu, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1373
E-mail: hhu@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Law and economics of corporate and international finance; swaps; derivatives; securities; banking; corporate governance; hedge funds; mutual funds; new financial products and financial innovation; corporate hedging investment and risk management; business, economics & labor.
Thomas Hunt
Thomas Hunt, J.D. and Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Kinesiology and Health Education
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-0994
E-mail: thomas_m_hunt@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Sport policy, law, and history; international relations; international politics and diplomacy; drugs and doping in sport; the Olympic Movement.
Kristine Huskey
Kristine Huskey, J.D.
Adjunct Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office:
E-mail: khuskey@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
International human rights, national security and the war on terrorism.
Robert Jensen
Robert Jensen, Ph.D.
Professor
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-1990
E-mail: rjensen@uts.cc.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Media and journalism (law and ethics); progressive politics and political dissidence; U.S. antiwar activism; communication; white privilege and institutionalized racism; pornography and sexual violence; male masculinity and feminism.
Derek Jinks
Derek Jinks, M.A., J.D.

School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1265
E-mail: djinks@law.ut.exas.edu

EXPERTISE
Public International law, international humanitarian law, human rights law, and criminal law.
Calvin Johnson
Calvin Johnson, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1306
E-mail: chjohnson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Federal tax law; constitutional law; accounting; business, economics & labor.
Manuel Justiz
Manuel Justiz, Ph.D.
Dean
College of Education

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-7255
E-mail: n/a

EXPERTISE
Education and public policy; politics of education; equal access for minorities in education systems; Latin American programs
Douglas Laycock
Douglas Laycock, J.D.
Professor Emeritus
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (734) 647-9713
E-mail: dlaycock@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Religious liberty; remedies; constitutional law; civil litigation
Brian Levack
Brian Levack, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of History
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-475-7204
E-mail: levack@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Witchcraft; witch trials and prosecution; demonic possession; torture, past and present; Reformation.
Sanford Levinson
Sanford Levinson, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512 232 1351
E-mail: slevinson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Constitutional development and theory; constitutional interpretation; public law; American political institutions and processes
Sanford Levinson
Sanford Levinson, PhD, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1351
E-mail: slevinson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Constitutional Law, constitutional design, emergency powers and constitutional theory, torture and the law.
Thomas McGarity
Thomas McGarity, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1384
E-mail: tmcgarity@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Administrative law, environmental law, food safety law, and torts.
Linda Mullenix
Linda Mullenix, J.D.;Ph.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1375
E-mail: lmullenix@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Mass tort litigation; class action litigation; federal civil procedure; federal courts; professional responsibility
J. Patrick Olivelle
J. Patrick Olivelle, Ph.D.
Jacob and Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities
Department of Asian Studies
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-5811
E-mail: jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
History of Sanskrit Literature; Law and Society in India; Methods in Study of Religion; Sanskrit Culture; History of Hindu Religious Traditions; Ancient to Medieval Indian cultural history.
Robert Owen
Robert Owen, J.D.
Clinical Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-9391
E-mail: rowen@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Capital punishment, death penalty,
Paola Passalacqua
Paola Passalacqua
Assistant Professor
Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
Cockrell School of Engineering

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-3319
E-mail: paola@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Multi-scale analysis of hydrological processes; Dynamics of environmental transport on river networks and deltaic systems; Quantitative analysis and modeling of landscape forming processes, geomorphic transport laws and subgrid-scale parameterization
H.W. Perry Jr.
H.W. Perry Jr., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Government
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-7228
E-mail: hwperry@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
U.S. Supreme Court; constitutional interpretation; the intersection of law and politics
Lucas Powe
Lucas Powe, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512 -232-1345
E-mail: spowe@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
U.S. Supreme Court; First Amendment; Second Amendment; Constitutional law; sports law
Robert Prentice
Robert Prentice, J.D.
Associate Chairman
Business, Government and Society
McCombs School of Business

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-5246
E-mail: rprentice@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
General business law, securities regulation, mergers & acquisitions, insider trading, law of electronic commerce, legal liability of accoutants, ethics
David Rabban
David Rabban, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1308
E-mail: DRABBAN@LAW.UTEXAS.EDU

EXPERTISE
Higher education law, academic freedom in particular.
David Robertson
David Robertson, J.S.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1339
E-mail: drobertson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Personal injury law; torts; admiralty; maritime law; transnational tort litigation
Daniel  Rodriguez
Daniel Rodriguez, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1090
E-mail: drodriguez@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Administrative law, local government law, statutory interpretation, and state constitutional law.
Mary Rose
Mary Rose, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-6336
E-mail: mrose@austin.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Juries and jury decision making, empirical analysis of the law, lay understanding of law and legal practices; justice perceptions; jury behavior; emotions and law, social psychology
William  Sage
William Sage, J.D., M.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-7806
E-mail: bsage@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Health law, regulatory theory, antitrust, and professional responsibility.
Lawrence Sager
Lawrence Sager
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1120
E-mail: lsager@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Constitutional law and religious liberties.
John Sampson
John Sampson, LL.B.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1267
E-mail: jsampson@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Family Law; abuse and neglect of children; child custody and support; community property; legislation; paternity; children''s rights; Texas marital relations and divorce.
 
Mark Simmons, Ph.D.
Director of Research & Consulting
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-0125
E-mail: msimmons@wildflower.org

EXPERTISE
Ecology, environmental sustainability; sustainable landscape design; prescribed fire; green roofs; turfgrass; sustainable lawns; invasive species; native plants.
David Sokolow
David Sokolow, J.D., MBA
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1379
E-mail: dsokolow@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Contract law, corporate law, entertainment law, art law
David Spence
David Spence, Ph.D. / J.D.
Associate Professor
Business, Government and Society
McCombs School of Business

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-471-0778
E-mail: david.spence@mccombs.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Environmental law, energy, governmental regulation, public policy, business law
James  Spindler
James Spindler, PhD, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1096
E-mail: jspindler@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Securities regulation, corporate law, corporate finance,securities disclosure,corporate fraud, corporate governance, executive compensation, securitizations, and auction rate securities.
Jordan Steiker
Jordan Steiker, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1346
E-mail: jsteiker@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Capital punishment; constitutional law; federal habeas corpus; criminal law
Laura Stein
Laura Stein, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Radio-TV-Film
College of Communication

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 471-8624
E-mail: lstein@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Communication law and policy, First Amendment rights, and alternative and public media
Michael Sturley
Michael Sturley, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1350
E-mail: msturley@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Admiralty and maritime law particularly the commercial aspects of maritime law (such as the international carriage of goods by sea); Supreme Court practice particularly on certiorari
 
Shirley Thompson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of American Studies
College of Liberal Arts

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office:
E-mail: s.thompson@mail.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
African American and African Diaspora Studies; Nineteenth Century US Cultural History; Law and Literature; Slavery and Post-Emancipation Cultures; Cultural Memory
Gerald Torres
Gerald Torres, LL.M.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1368
E-mail: gtorres@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Agricultural and environmental law (Domestic and International); Indian law; civil rights; critical race theory;
Jay Westbrook
Jay Westbrook, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: 512-232-1303
E-mail: jwestbrook@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Bankruptcy; international business litigation and arbitration; commercial law especially Article 9; secured credit
Abraham Wickelgren
Abraham Wickelgren , PhD, J.D.
Professor
School of Law

CONTACT INFORMATION
Office: (512) 232-1904
E-mail: awickelgren@law.utexas.edu

EXPERTISE
Antitrust law, antitrust economics, contracts, and law and economics.


  Updated 14 June 2013
  Comments to University Communications
  Post Office Box Z • Austin, TX 78713-8926 • 512-471-3151
  Accessibility  •  Privacy