Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained at this location. Read our Web history statement for more information and visit the link(s) below to access the current version of the site.
The current OnCampus site can be reached at http://www.utexas.edu/oncampus

The University of Texas at Austin Accolades Press Clippings Staff Spotlight UT In Focus News Briefs Did You Know? Archives
Back To On Campus Home December 15, 2005 Volume 32, Issue 4 Home


The Marshall Scholarship program has awarded UT Austin alumna Heidi Boutros a two-year scholarship to study international relations at the University of Oxford. Boutros, who graduated in 2004 with degrees in Plan II Honors and government, is one of 43 scholars from across the nation who received the honor.

Eun-Ok Im, associate professor of nursing, has been elected a 2005 Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, an organization that strives to promote health policy and practice.

Janine Barchas, assistant professor of English, is the 2005 recipient of the Alpha of Texas Award for Distinction in Teaching. The award is presented annually by Phi Beta Kappa.

Catherine Boone, associate professor of government, was elected to the executive council of the American Political Science Association, the professional association of political scientists nationwide.

Chiquita Collins, assistant professor of sociology, was named a Fellow by the Foundation for Community Empowerment. The two-year fellowship is designed to support research efforts in applied research and policy analysis of issues that affect urban areas.

Craig Cravens, lecturer in Slavic and Eurasian studies, was awarded the 2005 Texas Silver Spurs Teaching Award.

Michael Domjan, professor of psychology, was recently elected president of the Pavlovian Society of North America.

William Doolittle, professor of geography and the environment, has been elected as a 2005 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Doolittle was chosen for his work studying landscape transformation in the arid lands of northern Mexico and the southwestern United States.




Karl Galinsky, professor of classics, conducted a six-week seminar last summer in Rome for the American Institute for Roman Culture. The program focused on Roman religion and was sponsored by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Gloria González-López, assistant professor of sociology, won the 2005-2006 Woodrow Wilson Career Enhancement Fellowship for Junior Faculty.

Susanne Hafner, assistant professor of Germanic studies, received the A.W. Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in Medieval Studies for the 2005-2006 academic year. Hafner is spending the year at Notre Dame's Medieval Institute, doing research for her book "Vergilian Masculinities: Medieval Readings of the Aeneid."

Robert Hummer, professor of sociology, and Darlene Grant, vice provost and dean of graduate studies, received a two-year, $325,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to establish a diversity director for the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences Department.

A. Van Jordan, assistant professor of English, was honored by The Cleveland Foundation with its Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for his latest novel "M-A-C-N-O-L-I-A.” The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awardss recognize outstanding works that contribute to society's understanding of racism or appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures.

Naomi Lindstrom, professor of Spanish and Portuguese, has been invited to join the editorial board of a new online journal titled “Hojas del Cila-vario: Revista de literatura y de cultura argentines.” The journal is a project of the Argentine Research Center (Centro de Investigacion en Literatura Argentina) at the Universidad Catolica Argentina.

Mark Warr, professor of sociology, received the 2005 Michael J. Hindelang Award for the book "that makes the most outstanding contribution to research in the field of criminology." The award is for Warr's book,"Companions in Crime.”