Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained at this location. Read our Web history statement for more information and visit the link(s) below to access the current version of the site.
The current OnCampus site can be reached at http://www.utexas.edu/oncampus

Accolades Press Clippings Staff Spotlight UT In Focus News Briefs Web Watch Archives
Back To On Campus Home September 2007 Volume 33, Issue 11 Home


Payne and Granof to receive prestigious Civitatis Award

Professors Shelley Payne and Michael Granof have been selected to receive the 2006-07 Civitatis Award, one of the highest honors bestowed upon members of the university.

President William Powers Jr. will present the awards at a recognition ceremony on campus during the 2007-08 academic year.

The Civitatis Award is presented to faculty members who have demonstrated exemplary campus citizenship throughout a career of service at the university. It recognizes dedicated and meritorious service to the university above and beyond the regular expectations of teaching, research and writing.

Payne is the Lorene Morrow Kelley Fellow in Microbiology and a member of the universityís Academy of Distinguished Teachers. Her research focuses on the molecular biology of iron acquisition and other virulence factors in pathogenic bacteria, including those that cause dysentery and cholera in humans.

Payne began working at the university in 1980. She was chair of the Department of Microbiology (now the Section of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology) from 1993-1997. In 2005, Payne was appointed to the National Institutes of Health National Allergy and Infectious Diseases Advisory Council. She served on the Faculty Council and the Graduate Assembly and is a former chair of the Faculty Council. Payne has been involved in a number of initiatives on the status of women at the university and has strived to be a positive influence on gender equality on campus. She also has served on a number of university committees, including the Intercollegiate Athletics Council for Men and the Intercollegiate Athletics Council for Women. She also has been chair of the Athletics Council for Women.

Granof, the Ernst & Young Distinguished Centennial Professor in Accounting and a member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, has taught at the university since 1972 in the McCombs School of Business and the LBJ School of Public Affairs. He is a former chair of the Department of Accounting and the Faculty Council and chairs the board of directors of the University Cooperative Society. He also has chaired the University Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility and has been a member of numerous university committees, including the Menís Athletic Council, the Presidential Task Force on Efficiency, the Presidential Commission of 125 Working Group, the Presidential Committee to Assist K-12 Public Schools with Finances, the University of Texas System Faculty Advisory Committee and others.

Granof has received numerous business and teaching awards, including the Association of Government Accountants Cornelius E. Tierney/Ernst & Young Research Award in 2005. Recent teaching awards include the MBA Core Outstanding Professor Award in both 2005 and 2007. He is a member of the U.S. Comptroller Generalís Advisory Council on Government Auditing Standards and has been a member of other national accounting councils during his academic career. He was chair of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants Committee on Governmental Accounting and Auditing from 1992-1996.