Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained at this location. Read our Web history statement for more information and visit the link(s) below to access the current version of the site.
The current OnCampus site can be reached at http://www.utexas.edu/oncampus



On Campus

February 6, 2001 - VOL. 28, NO. 02

UT Humanities Institute appoints inaugural Faculty Fellows



return to
On Campus
contents page

The University of Texas Humanities Institute has awarded its first group of Humanities Institute Faculty Fellowships to a distinguished, dynamic and diverse group of UT Austin faculty.

Chosen from among many qualified applicants, these 18 fellows will join the institute's directors -- professors Evan Carton and Geraldine Heng -- as members of the 2001-2002 Humanities Institute Seminar.

The seminar, a core academic program of the new Humanities Institute, will meet weekly, throughout the academic year, to address an annual theme of critical intellectual and social importance. The institute also will sponsor a Distinguished Speakers Series in which visiting scholars will lecture publicly as well as meet in seminar with faculty and graduate student fellows.

The 2001-2002 seminar on "The Future of Disciplinary Knowledges," a forum on the organization, challenges and goals of university education in the new millennium, will explore the histories, methods, values and likely futures of current academic categories of knowledge.

Faculty fellows, who represent 14 different departments and three colleges, also will participate in the outreach and partnership initiatives by which the Humanities Institute seeks to establish a broad and interactive learning community that reaches beyond the University's walls -- a public intellectual sphere.

The Humanities Institute Fellows appointed for fall 2001 are:

  • Thomas Darwin, coordinator of the Graduate School's Intellectual Entrepreneurship Program and adjunct, College of Communication
  • Veit Erlmann, history of music chair and professor of ethnomusicology
  • Karl Galinsky, Cailloux Centennial Professor of Classics
  • Miodrag Mitrasinovic, assistant professor of design
  • Horace Newcomb, F.J. Heyne Centennial Professor, Radio-Television-Film
  • Gilbert Rappaport, associate professor of Slavic languages & literature
  • Denise Spellberg, associate professor of history & Middle Eastern studies
  • Pauline Strong, associate professor of anthropology
  • Alexandra Wettlaufer, associate professor of French and comparative literature.

The Fellows appointed for spring 2002 are:

  • Dana Cloud, associate professor of communication studies
  • Andrew Dell'Antonio, assistant professor of musicology
  • Neil Foley, associate professor of history and American studies
  • Amparo Garcia Crow, assistant professor of theater and dance
  • Niles Hansen, Leroy G. Denman, Jr. Regents Professor in Economics
  • A. P. Martinich, Vaughan Centennial Professor of Philosophy
  • Thomas Palaima, Dickson Centennial Professor of Classics
  • Kathleen Stewart, associate professor of anthropology
  • Jeffrey Tulis, associate professor of government.


February 19, 2001
Comments or suggestions to utopa@www.utexas.edu
Website comments to Web Administrator
Copyright © 2001 Office of Public Affairs
at The University of Texas at Austin