Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained at this location. Read our Web history statement for more information and visit the link(s) below to access the current version of the site.
The current OnCampus site can be reached at http://www.utexas.edu/oncampus

On Campus
          Office of Public Affairs | Contact Us | UT Home | Search UT  

September 27, 2001
Vol. 28, No. 11



University responds to national tragedy

Fall enrollment total sets record high

University's innovative "artsreach" program builds new art, music audience

Address on the State of the University

New members of Academy of Distinguished Teachers, faculty honored

Diverse new committee to evaluate dean of students applicants

Remarks from the Memorial Ceremony

News Briefs

University student features Bandera youth in special fine arts initiative

Fine arts program invites students to attend shows, exhibits for free

Entrpreneur teams with university professors to found startup technology company

$390,000 Toyota USA grant doubles science training for K-12 teachers

Faculty Council

Dell vice president named chief financial officer at university

Ambassador credits education for success


$720,000 TIF grant awarded to university's General Libraries

Harley Clark remembers introduction of "Hook ''em Horns" spirit signal

Professors strive to shorten developmen times for engineering systems


"" ""

New members of Academy of Distinguished Teachers, outstanding faculty honored during UTexas@118 celebration

By Robert D. Meckel

Several prestigious awards were presented during the UTexas@118 program, on Sept. 21 in Jessen Auditorium.

The honors, given as part of a celebration commemorating the university’s 118th birthday, included the Civitatis Award to Waneen Spirduso, Ed.D., of the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education. The Civitatis Award is conferred upon a faculty member who has shown exemplary campus citizenship throughout a career of service at the university.

The Presidential Citation was presented to Peter T. Flawn, president emeritus of The University of Texas at Austin; Harry J. Middleton, director of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum; and Larry E. Temple, an attorney and distinguished alumnus.

Award recipients must have achieved distinction in their fields of endeavor and be people of such integrity, stature, demonstrated ability and renown the university community will take pride in and be inspired by their recognition. Recipients also must have provided service that has made a profound and positive difference in the achievement of the university's mission.

Provost Sheldon Ekland-Olson recognized new members of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers. The academy is intended to recognize and enhance teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level.

New members of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers include:

  • James B. Ayres, Ph.D., Department of English
  • Anthony Bedford, Ph.D., Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics
  • Mia E. Carter, Ph.D., interim director of the Center for Asian American Studies
  • Katherine M. Davis, Ph.D., Department of Mathematics
  • Ross Jennings, Ph.D., Department of Accounting
  • Robert D. King, Ph.D., Department of Linguistics
  • Rebecca R. Richards-Kortum, Ph.D., Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • David M. Rabban, J.D., School of Law
  • Nancy L. Roser, Ed.D, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
  • Harvey M. Sussman, Ph.D., Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Other recipients of awards and recognition during the program included:

  • The 2001 Joe and Bettie Branson Ward Excellence Award for Research, Teaching or Demonstration Activities that Contribute to Changes of Positive Value to Society — Loriene Roy, Ph.D., a professor in the Graduate School of Library and Information Science.
  • President's Associates Teaching Excellence Awards, 2000-2001 — David P. Birdsong, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of French and Italian; David M. Buss, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Psychology; Carol H. MacKay, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of English; and S. Martin Shankland, Ph.D., associate professor in the Section of Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology. The award recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching.
  • Chancellor's Council Outstanding Teaching Award, 2000-2001 — Leon E. Long, Ph.D., Department of Geological Sciences.

top of page    next article

On Campus Produced by the Office of Public Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin
P.O. Box Z   Austin, Texas   78713-8926
512-471-3151   utopa@www.utexas.edu