Web Historical Disclaimer:

This is a historical page and is no longer maintained at this location. Read our Web history statement for more information and visit the link(s) below to access the current version of the site.
The current OnCampus site can be reached at http://www.utexas.edu/oncampus

On Campus
          Office of Public Affairs | Contact Us | UT Home | Search UT  

October 25, 2001
Vol. 28, No. 12



The politics of interpreting Islam

UT scholars: World events challenge journalism ethics

Archer Fellows serve in Washington, D.C.

ExxonMobil gives $158,500

UT staffer gives $700,00 for scholarships

UT team seeks to save Ukraine historic site

Inaugural D. Harrington Symposium Nov. 2

Longhorn Halloween Oct. 28

Dr. Laura Flawn dies in collision

UT's bell ringer making music for nearly 50 years

Professor Jaime Delgado dies

UT grad students empowered in wake of Sept. 11 tragedy

UT researchers discover wood pulp replacement

UT engineers unlock defense body's protectve systems

New process detects cancer's ability to spread

Dr. Wood leads team in $80 million quake study

Undergrad biomedical engineering program created

FACTS brochures available

Faculty Council

News Briefs


Hearts of TX Campaign ends Oct. 31

UT book de-mystifies directing


"" ""

Inaugural Donald D. Harrington Symposium to be conducted Nov. 2

The inaugural Donald D. Harrington Symposium, which will provide an opportunity for Harrington Faculty Fellows to share the results of their research with the academic community and the public, will be conducted from 1-4:30 p.m., Nov. 2, in the Avaya Auditorium of the ACES Building.

The focus of the symposium is "Nanoscience." President Larry R. Faulkner will make opening remarks.

symposium icon

The Donald D. Harrington Faculty Fellows Program was established by Sybil Harrington as a tribute to her husband. She envisioned a program that would support gifted and ambitious young scholars at The University of Texas at Austin at a level that would equal or exceed the levels of prestigious longstanding programs at other institutions around the world. These talented researchers and teachers would, in turn, share their knowledge and success with future generations, perpetuating the legacy and memory of Donald Harrington for all time.

The Harrington Faculty Fellows Program is designed to attract outstanding young and mid-career faculty from around the world. Fellowships are awarded annually to the most highly qualified applicants. The goal of the Harrington Fellows Program is to support and encourage exceptionally creative young faculty members at the university. Faculty are selected on the basis of their extraordinary research performance and their potential for making original contributions to research in fields of great significance to the global community.

Speakers, topics and schedule information for the symposium are as follows:

1 p.m. — "New Opportunities for Photons in Nanostructures"
   • Evelyn L. Hu, professor, electrical and computer engineering, the University of California at Santa Barbara; director, QUEST, a National Science Foundation-funded science and technology center.

1:45 p.m. —"Electronic Conduction in Molecular Nanostructures"
   • Clifford P. Kubiak, professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California at San Diego. Kubiak is the Harold. C. Urey Professor of Chemistry at the University of California at San Diego.

2:45 p.m. — "Angie's Nano Title"
   • Angela M. Belcher, Ph. D., assistant professor and Harrington Faculty Fellow, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, The University of Texas at Austin. Belcher is a materials chemist with expertise in the fields of biomaterials, biomolecular materials, organic-inorganic interfaces and solid state chemistry.

3:10 p.m. —"Chemical Strategies to Coax Visible Light from Silicon"
   • Brian A. Korgel, Ph.D., assistant professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Texas Materials Institute, The University of Texas at Austin. Korgel is a Chevron Centennial Teaching Fellow in the Department of Chemical Engineering.

3:35 p.m. —"Carbon Nanotube Nanoelectronics"
   • Zhen Yao, Ph. D., assistant professor, Department of Physics, The University of Texas at Austin. Yao joined the Department of Physics at The University of Texas at Austin in January 2001 as an assistant professor in experimental condensed matter physics.

4 p.m. — "Polymer Chemistry and Nanoscience"
   • C. Grant Willson, Ph. D., professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Chemical Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin. Willson has a joint appointment in the departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and holds the Rashid Engineering Regents Chair.

top of page    next article

On Campus Produced by the Office of Public Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin
P.O. Box Z   Austin, Texas   78713-8926
512-471-3151   utopa@www.utexas.edu