Doluisio, James T., Ph.D.
Hoechst-Roussel Centennial Professor
of Pharmaceutics Emeritus
and Dean Emeritus

Research Interests

James T. Doluisio is the Hoechst-Roussel Centennial Professor of Pharmaceutics Emeritus and Dean Emeritus at The University of Texas at Austin. He has written more than 90 papers on bioequivalency and drug absorption, biopharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics, physical pharmacy, pharmacy education and various pharmacy issues for national and international journals, textbooks and conferences.

He has participated in numerous state, national and international symposia and has served as a visiting lecturer to more than 45 colleges of pharmacy. Dr. Doluisio has received honors and awards from Temple University, the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science, Wayne State University, Oregon State University, the University of Georgia, the University of Wisconsin and The University of Texas at Austin. In 1983 he received an honorary doctorate (D.Sc.) from Purdue University. He is the 1994 recipient of the American Pharmaceutical Association's Remington Honor Medal. He was named 1995 Texas Pharmacy Association's Pharmacist of the Year, and presented the 1995 Texas Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists' Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. Doluisio served as president of the American Pharmaceutical Association in 1982 and as president of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists in 1988. He has also served as chairman of the Council of Deans of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (1975).

Dr. Doluisio began serving on the United States Pharmaceutical Convention Board of Trustees in 1985, and served as chairman of the United States Pharmacopeial Convention Board from 1990-1995. He serves as vice president of the Federation Internationale Pharmaceutique (beginning 1994).

Dr. Doluisio has served as a consultant to the Food and Drug Administration and to Hoechst-Roussel Pharmaceuticals, Inc., as a member of the U.S. Office of Technology Assessment Drug Bioequivalence Study Panel (1974), as chairman of the HEW (HCFA) Pharmaceutical Reimbursement Advisory Committee (1976-78) and as a Civilian National Consultant in Pharmacy to the Surgeon General, US Air Force (1976-1983).

He is a Fellow of the National Science Foundation and the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education. His professional memberships include the American Pharmaceutical Association, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, ASHP (American Society of Hospital Pharmacists), American College of Apothecaries, NARD (National Association of Retail Druggists), FIP (Federal Internationale Pharmaceutique), Texas Pharmaceutical Association and the Texas Society of Hospital Pharmacists.

(Download PDF Reader.)

Last Reviewed: August 31, 2011

Division Information

Mailing Address:
Pharmaceutics Division
College of Pharmacy
The University of Texas
at Austin
2409 University Ave.
Stop A1900
Austin, TX, USA

Email Address: pharmacy


Stavchansky Honored

Dr. Salomon Stavchansky is one of four named to the Hall of Distinguished Alumni at the University of Kentucky's College of Pharmacy.

> Read more about this story.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z