Student Information Training Programs Research Centers

Pharmacology & Toxicology

Research and Graduate Training Faculty


Mills, Edward M., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pharm./Tox.
Bergen-Brunswig Fellow
BME 3.510D

Current Lab Members

Shohei Kohno, Ph.D
Postdoctoral Scientist
College of Pharmacy

My projects focus on the role of uncoupling proteins and mitochondrial metabolism in the regulation of muscle physiology and pathology.

Graduate Student
College of Pharmacy

Heat shock proteins (HSPs) are involved in the cellular response to noxious stimuli such as toxicity, oxidative stress, hyperthermia and inflammation.  A recently characterized mitochondrial HSP named cvHSP is expressed most highly in the heart, skeletal muscle, and adipose tissues.  My project focuses on exploring the physiological role of HSP with specific emphasis on protein-protein interactions with mitochondrial proteins and its effects on mitochondrial metabolism.

B.S. Biology, Rice University, Houston, TX

Ashley Solmonson
Ph.D. Candidate
Institute for Cell and Molecular Biology

Christopher Riley
Ph.D. Student

Gloria Fang

More information about Dr. Mills
> Publications
> Lab Alumni
> Research Images
> Lab Photos
> Student Support and Grants
> Return to Mills' Home Page

Last Reviewed: January 28, 2015

Division Information

Mailing Address:
Pharmacology & Toxicology
College of Pharmacy
The University of Texas
at Austin
107 W. Dean Keeton
Stop C0875
Austin, TX, USA

Email Address: pharmtox

Phone: 512-471-5158

Parkinson Gene Link May Aid Battle Against Disease

Dr. Som Mukhopad-
hyay led the research team that focused on the gene SLC30A10 and its role as a "door opener" in helping to remove elevated levels of manganese from cells. The study was published in the Oct. 15, 2014 issue of The Journal of Neuroscience.

> Read more about Dr. Mukhopadhyay's research.

Erickson Authors New Book

"Drugs, the Brain and Behavior" is co-authored by Dr. Carlton Erickson, the college's associate dean for research and graduate studies, and Dr. John Brick, executive director of Intoxikon International.

> Read more about Dr. Erickson's new book.

Gore receives SEBM award

Andrea Gore is named to the SEBM Distinguished Scientist Award.

> Read more about Dr. Gore's new award.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z