Health Outcomes & Pharmacy Practice

Photo of Bettinger

Smith, Tawny Bettinger Smith, Pharm.D., BCPP
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Director, Seton Family of Hospitals PGY1 Pharmacy Residency
Director, UT PGY2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Residency

(512)324- 7000, ext 77384

Biographical Information

Dr. Tawny Smith attended the University of Illinois-Chicago where she received her doctorate of pharmacy degree. She completed her psychiatric pharmacy residency training at The University of Texas at Austin and the Austin State Hospital.  Following that, she completed a fellowship in Clinical Psychiatric Pharmacy at the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Smith is a board-certified psychiatric pharmacist serving as an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry with the UT Southwestern Psychiatry Program Seton Family of Hospitals, in Austin, Texas . She has additional academic appointments at UTMB department of psychiatry, Texas A&M Medical Center department of psychiatry, and UT College of Pharmacy.  She is also the post-graduate year one pharmacy residency director for the Seton Family of Hospitals, as well as the post-graduate year 2 psychiatric pharmacy residency director for The University of Texas at Austin.  Dr. Smith currently practices at Seton Shoal Creek Hospital and serves as the clinical pharmacy specialist in psychiatry for the Seton Network.

More information about Dr. Bettinger
Seton Family of Hospitals PGY1 Program

UT Psychiatric Pharmacy Program

Last Reviewed: September 20, 2012

Division Information

Mailing Address:
Pharmacy Practice
The University of Texas
at Austin
2409 University Ave.
Stop A1900
Austin, TX, USA

Email Address: pharmacy


Barner Cited for Top Teaching Award

Dr. Jamie Barner was named as the recipient of the Educator of the Year at the first College of Pharmacy Teaching Awards Ceremony and Reception.
>Read more about this honor.

Brown Named APhA Fellow

Dr. Carolyn Brown, professor of health outcomes and pharmacy practice, has been named an APhA fellow.
>Read more about this honor.

Shepherd Book Receives National Award

A book edited by Dr. Marv Shepherd has been chosen to receive the American Medical Writers Association's 2011 Medical Book Award.
>Read more about this honor.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z