About the College

History 1990s
The first students of the College's Option II Program completed their studies and earned the Master of Science degree.

The College helped dedicate the new Robert F. McDermott Clinical Science Building in San Antonio which included teaching and research facilities for the San Antonio clinical program.

 building photo
 centennial celebration
The College organized committees to plan and implement programs and events for its Centennial Observance under the direction of chairpersons Cynthia E. Standefer and William I. Dismukes.

The College celebrated 100 years of excellence by a year-long observance of its centennial anniversary.

Faculty approved a new curriculum for the Pharm.D. program, one which was designed to increase the accessibility of the Pharm.D. degree as an entry-level degree option in keeping with national trends.

Plans were completed to enroll the 1996 entering class in the new fully integrated professional curriculum, one designed for both B.S. and Pharm.D. candidates with an interdisciplinary approach to disease management, and moving away from the traditional separate-discipline approach to drug design and action.

Patrick Davis, associate dean of the College, in 1996-97 became the first pharmacy faculty member inducted into the University of Texas Academy of Distinguished Teachers, an elite body recognized as the "best of the best" teachers at the University.

 Dr. Davis
Dr. Patrick Davis
 Classroom Photo
Renovations were completed on a large state-of-the art electronic classroom in the Pharmacy Building, the second of its type on the UT-Austin campus. It was designed to accomodate both instructors' and students' computer and interactive television needs with computer network connections and microphones at each seat and a fully electronic podium.

For the first time in a quarter-century, the College of Pharmacy experienced a change in leadership as Steven W. Leslie, a faculty member within the College since 1974, was named the tenth dean of UT pharmacy by UT President Larry Faulkner. Dean Leslie, a research scholar who is internationally recognized for his work in alcoholism and alcohol abuse, assumed the pharmacy deanship on September 1, 1998.

The UT College of Pharmacy entered its first all Pharm.D. class in Fall 1999, following a national trend toward the Pharmacy Doctorate (Pharm.D.) as the preferred entry-level degree program in pharmacy education. The College also announced a collaborative venture with the three other colleges of pharmacy in Texas to offer TxPHARM, a non-traditional program designed to meet the needs of practicing pharmacists in Texas who wish to enhance their knowledge, skills, and credentials to the Pharm.D. level.

 Dean Leslie

Our Story by the Decade

1890s 1900s 1910s 1920s 1930s 1940s
1950s 1960s 1970s 1980s 1990s 2000s

Last Reviewed:June 5, 2008

College Information

Mailing Address:
College of Pharmacy
The University of Texas
at Austin
2409 University Ave.
Stop A1900
Austin, TX, USA

Email Address: pharmacy


National Ranking

The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy is recognized nationally as one of the elite pharmacy programs for education and research.  The most recent ranking by U.S. News and World Report places the UT College of Pharmacy program among the top four of the more than 100 pharmacy programs in the country.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z