News & Events Home Events Calendar

The Year in Review: 2012

Dean CrismonHappy new year from The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy. The winter break is behind us, and staff and faculty are anticipating the return of students and the start of spring classes. The year 2012 was a banner one for the college in many ways. Although we are only a few days into 2013, we anticipate great things in the coming year as well. As we launch this new year, I thought you might enjoy a brief retrospective on 2012. We've called this selection 12 -n- 12 -- twelve significant events that helped shape the UT College of Pharmacy in 2012. Happy reading and happy new year.

Dean M. Lynn Crismon, Pharm.D.


US News & World Report salute

The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy maintained its position among the top four programs of pharmacy education in the country as U.S. News and World Report released its rankings of the 2013 Best Graduate Schools. Read more about our ranking.


UT Advance opens

UT Advance, a new GLP laboratory that fills a critical gap in the process of developing new drugs and biotechnology products, opened in October. The laboratory is located at the Dell Pediatric Research Institute near the Dell Children's Medical Center of Central Texas and falls under the guidance of the Drug Dynamics Institute. Read more about UT Advance.


Translational Science Program

Julieta Scalo and Kelly Daniels are members of the first class working toward a Ph.D. in Translational Science, a cooperative program involving The University of Texas at Austin and three other University of Texas System institutions. Read more about the Translational Science Program.


NCPA named chapter of the year

UT's student chapter of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) was named the 2012 top NCPA student chapter in the country. Read more about NCPA's honor.


Banner year for residency matches

The college registered one of its most successful residency match days in history with an impressive 84 percent of applicants being successfully placed in postgraduate year one (PGY1) residency programs for 2012-2013. Read more about residency matches.


Brand elected APS Speaker

Athena Brand, P4 student, serves this year as Speaker of the House of the American Pharmacists Association's Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP). She was elected at the March 2012 meeting of the American Pharmacists Association. Read more about this honor.


Alumni Association honors four

The Pharmacy Alumni Association honored four of its own in September ceremonies during Homecoming Weekend. Honorees included Mark Zamutt, Kenneth Tiemann, J. Nile Barnes, and Steven Knight. Read more about our honorees.


Two receive regents teaching awards

Renee Acosta, a clinical associate professor of health outcomes and pharmacy practice, and Ken Lawson, a professor and head of the Health Outcomes and Pharmacy Practice Division, are among 65 faculty members to receive Regents Outstanding Teaching Awards from the University of Texas System. Read more about the teaching awards.


Pharmacy's Game Changer

Dr. Andrea Gore, professor of pharmacology and toxicology, was featured in a taping on Wednesday of Game Changers, a new program of the Longhorn Network that showcases the university's finest talents. Read more about Dr. Gore.


Dorm Room's first year

One year ago, representatives from The University of Texas, the City of Austin and Austin Technology Incubator sat down together, agreed to combine resources, and mapped a strategy. The UTech Dorm Room (UTDR) was born. Read more about the Dorm Room.


Weems receives UT award

Beverly Weems, administrative associate in the Division of Continuing Education, was one of 30 university employees and two supervisors to be presented an Outstanding Staff and Supervisor Awards for 2012. Read more about Weem's award.

In addition, other college staff were recognized at the annual staff appreciation event in June. Read more about this recognition.


Faculty research initiatives

College faculty continue to generate impressive numbers of grants to support their research endeavors. Outstanding examples of grants awarded to faculty include a $2.2 million grant to Dr. John DiGiovanni (read more about DiGiovanni ) and a $3.3 million grant awarded to a team of researchers led by Dr. Adron Harris (read more about Harris). The work of Dr. Kevin Dalby (read more about Dalby) is supported by numerous grants as well, including nearly $5 million in funding.

Last Reviewed: January 15, 2013

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z