News & Events Home Events Calendar


Four Named to AFPE Fellowships

The American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education has notified four College of Pharmacy graduate students that they have been awarded pre-doctoral fellowships.

Graduate students Kelly Daniels, Christine Dao, Michael Sandoval, and Neha Thakore were among the 42 selected nationally to hold the fellowships from a field of 119 applicants.

"It is outstanding that our college's graduate students won four of these 42 national awards," said Dean Lynn Crismon.  "I congratulate these outstanding students for their accomplishments."

Kelly Daniels works with Dr. Chris Frei, assistant professor of pharmacotherapy in San Antonio.  She will begin studies this fall as one of the first students in the new translational science Ph.D. program.

Christine Dao works with Dr. Ted Mills, associate professor of pharmacology and toxiocology.  She entered candidacy in Spring 2012.

Michael Sandoval worked with Dr. Zhengrong Cui, associate professor of pharmaceutics.

Neha Thakore graduatated with her Pharm.D. in May and will begin the college's Ph.D. program in Fall 2012.  She will study under direction of Dr. Christine Duvauchelle, associate professor of pharmacology and toxicology.

The program is designed to encourage outstanding pre-doctoral students to continue their studies and earn the Ph.D. in the pharmaceutical sciences at a U.S. school or college of pharmacy.  Students who have completed at least three semesters of graduate study and have no more than three and a half years remaining to obtain their Ph.D.  The fellowship stipend may be used for a purpose decided by the awardee and college that will enable the student to make progress in their pursuit of their degree.


Last Reviewed: May 23, 2012

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z