News & Events Home Events Calendar


Doluisio Awarded Dean Emeritus Status

Dr. James T. Doluisio, who served as dean of The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy for a quarter of a century (1973-1998), has been named dean emeritus. 

Dr. Steven Leslie, executive vice president and provost, approved the designation, noting that the title has been recently established to honor former deans who have provided distinguished service to the university.

The College of Pharmacy celebrated the award and paid tribute to Doluisio on Friday, September 9.  Highlight of the day's activities was a noon address by Doluisio to all students, faculty and staff within the college.   He was also recognized at the college's annual Alumni Association Awards Banquet that evening.

Dean Lynn Crismon was the primary nominator of Doluisio for the honor.  "Jim Doluisio, perhaps more than any other single individual, propelled our college into one of the leading programs of pharmacy education in the country," he said.  "I can think of no better way to honor his commitment than this designation as dean emeritus."

"I have received many great national and international honors including American pharmacy's highest honor, the Remington Medal, but this is the one that means the most to me," Doluisio said in addressing the banquet attendees.

Doluisio came to Austin at a time when the College of Pharmacy was in a state of turmoil, having experienced recent turnover in faculty and administration.  The college was also facing pressure from UT System leaders who were considering transferring the program away from the Austin to another campus. 

Under his leadership, the college gained prestige and was named among the top three outstanding programs of pharmacy education in the country.  He made a policy of hiring bright young faculty members who, in turn, saw their careers flourish.  Many remain on the faculty today while others went on to prestigious careers, including deanships, at other colleges of pharmacy. 

Earlier in his career, Doluisio was a leader in his research focus of pharmacokinetics and biopharmaceutics.  He was one of pharmacy's outstanding national leaders, serving as president of both the American Pharmacists Association and the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists. He also served as chair of the Council of Deans for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.  He has been awarded honorary doctorate degrees from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science, Purdue University and Wilkes University.

In addition to his new title of dean emeritus, Doluisio also holds the title of Hoechst-Roussel Centennial Professor of Pharmaceutics Emeritus. 

The university president and provost designated Dolores Sands, of the nursing school, as the first dean emeritus in September 2009 following her retirement.  The following year, a committee led by Manuel Justiz, dean of the College of Education, established guidelines for subsequent nominations that were adopted in January 2011. 

For a former dean to be considered for the dean emeritus appointment, evidence must be submitted of distinguished service as demonstrated by reappointment to a second term as dean or advancement to a senior level administrative position at UT Austin.  Nominations must be submitted by the incumbent dean and supported by a letter from a UT Austin faculty member and a letter from a university alumnus.  Doluisio is the eighth person in the history of the university to be awarded the title.

View Doluisio's presentation to students, faculty and staff.

Last Reviewed: September 15, 2011

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z