News & Events Home Events Calendar

Governor makes appointments to state committee

Three College of Pharmacy alumni have been appointed by Texas Governor Rick Perry to the state's Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee.  The appointments were announced Jan. 10 by the Governor's Office.  Terms of all new appointees expire on Sept. 1, 2011.

Donna Burkett, B.S. '72 and M.S. 2000, has more than 25 years experience in hospital pharmacy management as director of pharmacy in various facilities throughout San Antonio and Austin.  She currently is director of pharmacy at St. David's Round Rock Medical Center. She is a member of the University of Texas College of Pharmacy Advisory Council and serves as secretary of the Austin Area Society of Health-System Pharmacists.  She was appointed to the Texas Health & Human Services Commission, Medicaid Pharmaceutical & Therapeutics Committee in 2003 where she has served as vice chair since her initial appointment. 

Oralia V. Bazaldua, B.S. '91, of San Antonio is an associate professor at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Department of Family and Community Medicine. She is a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, a member of the North American Primary Care Research Group and American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, and a member and past chair of the San Antonio Health Literacy Initiative.  She also completed a pharmacy general residency at Parkland Memorial Hospital and a specialty residency with Kaiser Permanente and the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy.

Daniel Ray Hernandez, B.S. '92, of Harlingen is a pharmacy manager at Texas Oncology Pharmacy. He is a member of the Texas Pharmacy Association, the University of Texas Pan American (UTPA) Admissions Committee, and UTPA/UT College of Pharmacy Cooperative Program Regional Advisory Council. He is being reappointed to his position on the committee.

Burkett, Bazaldua, and Hernandez all serve as adjunct faculty members with the University of Texas College of Pharmacy.  A fourth adjunct faculty member, Dorinda Martin of Austin was also reappointed to the committee.  Martin is pharmacist/owner of Dripping Springs Pharmacy.  She is a fellow of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists, chairman of the National Association of Community Pharmacists Long Term Health Committee, and a past member of the Texas Pharmacy Association Board of Directors.

The Texas Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee makes recommendations for preferred drugs lists adopted by the Health and Human Services Commission.

Last Reviewed: January 11, 2011

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z