News & Events Home Events Calendar

Spring 2009 Convocation for Graduating Students


Location: Performing Arts Center, Bass Concert Hall
Date: Friday, May 22, 2009

The College of Pharmacy Convocation celebrated Pharm.D. Graduates in a
ceremony on Friday, May 22, 2009 in the university's Bass Concert Hall.

Victor A. Yanchick, dean of the College of Pharmacy at Virginia Commonwealth
University and president of the American Association of Colleges of
Pharmacy, was the 2009 commencement speaker.

Jamie Ecklund, newly elected president of the graduating class, presented
commencement remarks.

Several graduates were cited for special awards and recognition including
Karen Lee for having the highest grade point average in required doctor of
pharmacy courses. ÊFour students tied for the second highest grade point
average. ÊThose honored included Sapana Desai, Cindy Hsieh, Kathryn Mier and
Amy Overstreet.

The award for outstanding research went to Nicolas Forcade, Brittany Makos
and Anthony Romo while the award for excellence in patient care went to
Jennifer El-Khoury, Shirley Kong, and Carla Warmeister.

James He, Marybel Montemayor and Irvin Nguyen shared honored for dedicated
service as John Blanchett, Anjali Patek, and Meena Ramanathan were honored
for exemplary leadership.

The College of Pharmacy Alumni Association Mortar and Pestle Awards for
leadership, service, patient care, and research were awarded to Ms. Ecklund
and Kunal Patel.

Serving with Ms. Ecklund as officers for the class are Ms. Ramanathan, vice
president, and Ms. Desai, secretary/treasurer.

Photo Montage

Last Reviewed: May 26, 2009

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z