News & Events Home Events Calendar


ASHP honors Perez

Katherine Perez, Pharm.D., Class of 2010, has been named recipient of the 2013 Literature Award for Innovation in Pharmacy Practice.  The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Research and Education Foundation sponsors the award program.

Perez is an infectious disease clinical specialist at The Methodist Hospital in Houston, TX.  Her winning article is titled "Integrating Rapid Pathogen Identification and Antimicrobial Stewardship Significantly Decreases Hospital Costs."  Co-authors include Randall J. Olsen, M.D., Ph.D.; William L. Musick, Pharm.D.; Patricia L. Cernoch, MT, (ASCP)SM; James R. Davis, Ph.D.; Geoffrey A. Land, Ph.D.; Leif E. Peterson, Ph.D.; and James M. Musser, M.D., Ph.D.  It was published in the Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine.

The Literature Awards Program honors important contributions by pharmacists to biomedical literature. Awards are made to individuals who publish high-impact articles in primary, peer-reviewed, biomedical literature.  Emphasis is placed on originality, innovation, impact and quality of the contributed articles. 

Since it was established in 1970, the program has recognized approximately 600 practitioners for their significant contributions to the literature of pharmacy practice.   The Innovation in Pharmacy Practice is one of five literature awards presented annually through the program.   Perez received an honorarium as well as travel expenses to attend the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting in December.

Last Reviewed: November 25, 2013

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z