News & Events Home Events Calendar

NACDS Foundation Supports Scholarship Fund

The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) has awarded $30,000 in scholarship funds to benefit Pharm.D. students at The University of Texas at Austin.  Announcement of the award was made at the association's annual meeting in April.

The scholarship is supported by a gift by Walgreens to the NACDS Foundation. Kermit Crawford, R.Ph., president for pharmacy services at Walgreens, presented the award to Dean Lynn Crismon at the meeting.  The award was based upon a competitive scholarship assistance proposal authored by Dr. Nathan Pope, clinical assistant professor of health outcomes and pharmacy practice, and Dean Crismon,  In all, NACDS Foundation presented a total of $230,000 in scholarship funding to 12 accredited pharmacy schools and colleges.  This year, the Foundation's scholarship program was restructured to reflect a merit-based approach in its awards.  The new process is designed to recognize schools and colleges of pharmacy that emphasize advancing and improving patient care through community pharmacy and have implemented innovative programs to prepare students for these new roles. 

In announcing the award, NACDS cited the college's emphasis on medication therapy management (MTM) including a strong MTM research focus within the health outcomes faculty.  In addition, all graduates earn MTM certification as part of their education.  Texas also is deemed a leader in community pharmacy residencies with nine positions in community pharmacies throughout Texas."

Crismon credited the work of college faculty in discussing the award. 
"It is our faculty who receive the credit for this scholarship award," he said.   "They designed our current Pharm.D. curriculum, and implemented and taught it.  They are faculty members who conducted the research examining patient care outcomes with innovative community pharmacy services, and several are the faculty who supervise graduate students and community pharmacy residents who conducted cutting edge research in community pharmacy practice."

Crismon said that the $30,000 award will go into the NACDS Endowed Presidental Scholarship fund where it will benefit UT student pharmacists in perpetuity.

Last Reviewed: June 4, 2013

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z