News & Events Home Events Calendar


Pipkin honored by APhA

PHOTOHazel Pipkin, retired clinical professor of pharmacy administration, was designated the 2011 Honorary President of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) during the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in Seattle, Wash., in March.

Also at the meeting, two graduate students in the Division of Pharmacy Administration were honored for their research poster presentations.

APhA confers the title of honorary president upon members who have made significant contributions to the Association. She was elected for her pioneering spirit and tremendous impact on the future of the pharmacy profession. She was also noted for her work with APhA and its foundation, as well as building a place for women in pharmacy as one of the first female pharmacy owners and the first female president of the Texas Pharmacists Association.

photoIn other news from the APhA meeting, Haesuk Park, a graduate student with Dr. Karen Rascati, won the Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APRS) award for Postgraduate Best Poster.  Her poster was titled, "Efficacy and Safety of Dipeptidyl peptidase-4 [DPP-4] inhibitors in Type 2 Diabetes: Meta-analysis."

photoMarc Fleming, was named honorable mention for the same award.  Fleming, a student working with Dr. Jamie Barner, was recognized for his poster, "Survey of Texas Community Pharmacists' Perceptions About New or Transferred Prescription Incentives."   Both Park and Fleming are Ph.D. candidates.

Last Reviewed: March 31, 2011

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z