News & Events Home Events Calendar


Three Longhorns Receive TPA Honors

A Texas state senator, a provider of health services to diabetic patients, and a recent graduate are among those honored at the Texas Pharmacy Association's Annual Meeting in Frisco, Tx.

Texas Sen. Leticia Van de Putte, B.S. '79 of San Antonio, received the Bowl of Hygeia Award.  The award annually recognizes a pharmacist who has excelled beyond their standard job responsibilities to give back to their communities through exceptional public service.  The American Pharmacists Association Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations are sponsors of the award.  Sen. Van de Putte represents Texas Senate District 26 that includes a large portion of San Antonio and Bexar County.  In January, she was unanimously elected to serve as president pro Tempore of the Senate's 83rd Regular Session and in May, she was sworn in as Governor for a Day.  She was named to Texas Monthly magazine's list of ten best legislators. 

Dr. Debra Lopez, Pharm.D. '99, a clinical instructor within the College of Pharmacy, received the Innovation Award from TPA.  She works as an ambulatory care pharmacist at Blackstock Family Practice, a medicine residency program in Austin that has expanded the role of the pharmacy team to include management of several disease states, ordering labs and initiating/discontinuing several medications.  In addition, the pharmacy team provides educational services to both patients and other health care providers.  With 21 medical residents, a pharmacy resident, and a Pharm.D. student, Blackstock functions similar to an academic setting.

Joey Barrara, who earned his Pharm.D. in May 2013, was named recipient of the Distinguished Pharmacy Student Award.  The award recognizes a fourth year pharmacy student who has demonstrated excellence in leadership, community activities and advancement of the practice of pharmacy. 

Last Reviewed: July 29, 2013

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z