News & Events Home Events Calendar

UT NCPA named Chapter of the year

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) student chapter at The University of Texas at Austin has been named the top NCPA student chapter in the country for 2012.

The announcement was made Oct. 14 at NCPA's 114th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition in San Diego, California. 

The chapters are the most integral part of the NCPA Student Outreach Program that was launched 22 years ago by NCPA Foundation Trustee Emeritus Joe Mosso, who was president of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD, which became known as NCPA in 1996). The NCPA Foundation underwrites the program, which is designed to increase student awareness of pharmacy ownership and the entrepreneurial opportunities in pharmacy. There are now approximately 3,700 student members and 102 chapters in the 124 U.S. pharmacy schools.

"Our UT student NCPA members demonstrate excellence across multiple domains of performance," said Dean M. Lynn Crismon.  "In particular, they perform in an outstanding manner in their projects to promote patient adherence and in advancing advocacy efforts.  We are extremely proud of these UT student pharmacists."

In addition to the chapter honor, several students received individual recognitions.  Sherman Kuan, a third-year pharmacy student at UT, was named outstanding student chapter member of the year for UT Austin.  He was among 26 nationally honored with the award after being nominated by their peers and faculty at each of their respective schools.  Kaun serves as treasurer of the UT Austin chapter.  Rima Bouajram, fourth-year pharmacy student, received the Partners in Pharmacy Scholarship while Chris Perling, also a fourth-year pharmacy student and president of the UT student group, was awarded the Presidential Scholarship.

"It was a great pleasure to hear that the UT chapter of NCPA won the chapter of the year award," said faculty sponsor Nathan Pope. "The award is based upon criteria such as program originality/innovation, number of chapter members involved, impact on the community, benefit to student chapter members, and collaboration with independent pharmacies and health care organizations."

"The student members are a dedicated and motivated group who are driven to improve the practice of pharmacy through advocacy and service," he continued.  "I am very proud of their hard work."

McKesson Foundation sponsors the chapter of the year and student member of the year.

The National Community Pharmacists Association represents the interests of America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 independent community pharmacies.   The NCPA Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy.


Last Reviewed: October 14, 2012

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z