Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating Pharmacy Research Excellence Day

Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating Pharmacy Research Excellence Day

Keynote Speaker

Paul G. Ambrose, Pharm.D., FIDSA

Paul G. Ambrose is President of the Institute for Clinical Pharmacodynamics (ICPD), Latham, New York, USA. He is also an Honorary Research Fellow in Infectious Diseases at the University of Oxford, Oxford, UK and Adjunct Associate Research Professor at the University at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York.

Dr. Ambrose's areas of scientific inquiry primarily involve anti-infective translational science, with the goal of improving patient care through the application of pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic (PK-PD) principles. Knowledge gained though the use of non-clinical (in vitro and animal) PK-PD infection models may be leveraged with human pharmacokinetic data in order to discriminate between potential dosing regimens and thereby increase the probability of positive clinical outcomes while minimizing the potential for drug-related toxicities. ICPD has successfully utilized this approach for support of regulatory decision-making and as support for Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute susceptibility breakpoint determinations.

Dr. Ambrose is a member of the working group on 'Skin and Skin Structure Infection-Community-Acquired Pneumonia' for The Biomarkers Consortium at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, USA and is a member of the 'ReAct: Action on Antibiotic Resistance' Working Group in Uppsala, Sweden. Moreover, Dr. Ambrose serves as the chairperson of the United States Antimicrobial Susceptibility Test Committee (USCAST).

He is Editor of Antimicrobial Agents Chemotherapy and an Editorial Board Member of the Journal of Infectious Disease Pharmacotherapy. Dr. Ambrose is the author of over 120 peer-reviewed scientific publications and approximately 160 scientific abstracts. Dr. Ambrose has served as an Editor for four textbooks; most notably the 1st and 2nd Editions of Antimicrobial Pharmacodynamics in Theory and Clinical Practice.


Faculty Speaker

Jamie C. Barner, PhD, FAACP, FAPhA


Jamie C. Barner received her B.S. in Pharmacy from The University of Texas and her Ph.D. degree in Pharmacy Administration from Purdue University.  Dr. Barner has worked in community pharmacy, pharmaceutical industry and managed care.  She has been a faculty member at The University of Texas College of Pharmacy for 16 years.  Dr. Barner is a member of several professional associations including American Pharmacists Association (APhA), American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) and the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR).  She is a Fellow of APhA and has held several leadership positions in the organization including chair of the following: Economic Social and Administrative Sciences (ESAS) section, ESAS Contributed Papers, Annual Meeting Education committee, and Medication Therapy Management (MTM) Emerging Issues committee. She was also appointed by APhA to serve on the Pharmacy Quality Alliance Medication Adherence committee and she  currently  serves as a member of the APhA MTM Advisory Board.  Dr. Barner served as an MTM key informant and technical expert for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. She also served as chair of AACP's Graduate Program Standards Academic Careers committee and is a Fellow of the AACP Academic Leadership Program.

Dr. Barner teaches healthcare systems, pharmacy services, pharmacoeconomics, research methods and data analysis.  She received the inaugural College of Pharmacy Educator of the Year award in 2013. Dr. Barner's research interests include MTM, health outcomes and medication adherence.  Dr. Barner has published over 70 peer-reviewed papers and presented over 140 papers at professional meetings.


Last Reviewed: February 27, 2014

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z