Undergraduate Awards

The University of Texas at Austin offers a wide range of awards for undergraduates: the University Co-op / George H. Mitchell Student Awards for Academic Excellence and the Roy Crane Award in the Arts. Sponsorship of these awards is part of the overall mission to encourage and promote excellence in undergraduate education.

University Co-op / George H. Mitchell Student Awards for Academic Excellence

The University of Texas at Austin, with the generous support of the University Co-op, will annually recognize up to seven UT undergraduates for superior scholarly or creative achievement. Three students will receive awards of $2,000 each, three students will receive awards of $3,000 each, and one student will be awarded the grand prize of $10,000. The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost provides a concurrent award of half the value of each student's award to the academic department in which the scholarly work was supervised.

Roy Crane Award in the Arts

The Roy Crane Award in the Arts is given to a student of The University of Texas at Austin for unique, creative effort in the performing, literary and visual arts. An undergraduate or graduate student from any major area of study may compete for the award. The committee, which selects the winner, will give no weight to any entrant’s grade point average or other academic achievement.

So that an entrant’s work may be compared with similar forms of creativity, the award committee singles out only one area of the arts for each year’s competition. For 2014, the Performing Arts will be considered for the award; in 2015, the Literary Arts; and in 2016, the Visual Arts.

UT System Awards

Regents’ Outstanding Student Awards in Arts and Humanities - Creative 40 Acres

To recognize student achievement in the arts and humanities, The University of Texas System Board of Regents has developed awards for outstanding students and student groups that excel in four areas: the musical arts, the visual arts, poetry writing and short essays. The specific Area for recognition will vary each year. For 2014, the UT System Board of Regents will recognize creative writing. There will be awards made in two categories: Poetry Writing and Short Fiction. One winner will be named in each category. A $1,500 monetary award will be made in the winners’ names to the department of their choice. The award will be split with the student and the awarded department.

National Student Award Competitions

The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost coordinates Goldwater Scholarship nominations for the University of Texas at Austin as well as the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation's Scholarship. The Fulbright Grant program is now handled through the International Office. Go to U.S. Fulbright Grants - Student Program at UT.

Astronaut Scholarship Foundation

The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost coordinates the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation award. The Astronaut Scholarship is the largest monetary award in the United States given to outstanding undergraduate students majoring in science, technology, engineering or math.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation is a non-profit organization established by the Mercury Astronauts in 1984 and they have been joined in this endeavor by the Gemini, Apollo, Skylab and Shuttle astronauts. “It is the desire of the Foundation that the students nominated for Astronaut Scholarships be highly motivated, focused in their scientific objectives and possessed of intellectual daring."

Goldwater Scholarship

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship provides $7,500 per year for educational expenses to two groups of students—those who will be college juniors and those who will be college seniors in the 2015–2016 academic year. Applicants must have outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. The foundation intends to award up to 300 Goldwater Scholarships nationwide. A campus committee selects UT’s nominees before applications are forwarded to the national competition.

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation