A Principles and Policies Guide for Sponsored Activity



The University of Texas at Austin has prepared this Guide as a summary of selected fundamental principles and policies which govern the manner in which sponsored activity is conducted at The University and to facilitate and expedite the negotiation of sponsored activity agreements between The University and sponsors.


The University of Texas at Austin is an agency of the State of Texas and a component institution of The University of Texas System, governed by the UT Board of Regents. All sponsored activity agreements and related contractual agreements such as visiting scientist agreements, nondisclosure agreements, teaming agreements, material transfer agreements, etc. must be executed by an authorized official of The University and in The University's legal name: "The University of Texas at Austin." Individuals, Departments or Organized Sponsored Research Units may not directly enter into sponsored activity agreements or legally bind The University.



Routine tasks of a commonplace type that do not contribute to the advancement of knowledge or The University's mission will not be undertaken. The University will not place its facilities or services in competition with services performed by the private sector. Therefore, tests, studies, and investigations of a purely commercial character are undertaken only when University facilities are unique for those services and no satisfactory facilities for such services exist elsewhere or are not reasonably available to the sponsor.


The University retains the right to publish and disseminate all work done under sponsored activity projects and cannot accept or undertake any sponsored project that provides for sponsor approval or undue control over the timing or content of University publications, or which prohibits the publication of the results of the project, except with limited restrictions.


Title to inventions and discoveries, including copyrightable software, made or conceived by The University under a sponsored project is retained by The University. The University will grant to the sponsor a time-limited first right to negotiate an exclusive or nonexclusive royalty-bearing license, whose terms will include the requirement that the sponsor shall bear the expense of securing and maintaining patent protection for any licensed invention or discovery. Two exceptions to this policy would be: 1) Federally funded research or sponsored activity which would be governed by appropriate federal regulations regarding data rights and patent rights and 2) Sponsored activity funded by nonprofit organizations, Universities, or State Agencies in which the University would normally grant the sponsor a nonexclusive royalty free license to use such inventions and discoveries for internal purposes only.

As a State of Texas educational institution, The University is unable to enter into "works-for-hire" agreements in which the results of the sponsored activity are owned by the sponsor.


Because research or sponsored activity results are unpredictable, The University performs its sponsored activities on a "best efforts basis" with no stated warranties or guarantees. The University will not accept contract provisions that require a warranty or guarantee of the results, provide for penalties due to failure to make progress by firm deadlines, or provide for withholding of payment if the sponsor is not satisfied with the results. Any resulting contract or agreement is expected to be on a cost reimbursable basis as opposed to fixed price or time and materials/labor hour basis.


It is a long-standing University policy that under no circumstances shall a sponsor be permitted to use its name in any publication or other published announcement to state or imply that The University approves or endorses any product or service of the sponsor. The University also requires that its name not be used in connection with any advertisement, press release, or other form of business promotion or publicity, or refer to a sponsored activity agreement, without its prior written approval.


The University of Texas at Austin is self-insured for Worker's Compensation Insurance. The University is unable under Texas law to obtain Employer's Liability, Comprehensive General or Public Liability, and Comprehensive Automobile Insurance. The Texas Tort Claims Act provides for remedies against the State for legal proceedings for claimants in these areas.

The University, to the extent permitted by the Constitution and laws of the State of Texas, will agree to indemnify the sponsored activity sponsor for The University's own negligent acts or omissions in the performance of the sponsored activity project. The sponsor will be expected to indemnify The University and The University of Texas System from any liability arising out of the activities carried out pursuant to the obligations of the sponsored program and for the sponsor's use of the sponsored activity results obtained from the activities performed by The University under the sponsored program.


In the event a funding agreement is terminated for any reason, the sponsor will be expected to reimburse the University for all costs incurred to the date of termination and for all noncancellable obligations.


As an agency and institution of the State of Texas, The University of Texas at Austin cannot accept a provision that provides that the agreement is governed by the laws of another state.


The Office of Sponsored Projects (OSP) serves as the coordinating office for externally funded sponsored activity projects submitted by The University of Texas at Austin. All proposals to external funding sources for sponsored projects must be submitted through OSP and all awards received for sponsored research must be processed by OSP.


For further information about the policies and procedures set forth in this Guide, or to request information on sample University agreements for use with sponsoring organizations, please contact the Office of Sponsored Projects at (512) 471-6424. Additional information concerning the Office of Sponsored Projects, its personnel, sample forms, OSP Handbook and other information can be obtained by visiting the OSP Home Page web site located at http://www.utexas.edu/research/osp/. Additional information concerning The University of Texas at Austin may be obtained by visiting The University of Texas at Austin Home Page web site located at http://www.utexas.edu/. Additional information concerning The University of Texas System may be obtained by visiting The University of Texas System web site at http://www.utsystem.edu/ogc/IntellectualProperty/homepage.htm.


Interim Director
Jason Richter, (512) 471-6424; email: osp@mail.utexas.edu

Associate Director
David Hawkins, (512) 471-6424; email: dhawkins@austin.utexas.edu

Associate Director/Export Controls Officer
David Ivey, (512) 475-7963; email: ivey@austin.utexas.edu

Associate Director
Courtney Frazier Swaney, (512) 471-6424; email: c_frazier@austin.utexas.edu

Assistant Director
Elena V. Mota, (512) 471-6424; email: evmota@austin.utexas.edu

Assistant Director
David "Doc" Dockwiller, (512) 471-6424; email: oa.ddockwiller@austin.utexas.edu

Assistant Director
Henrike De Haas, (512) 232-6539; email: h.dehaas@austin.utexas.edu

Overnight Delivery Address
The University of Texas at Austin
Office of Sponsored Projects
North Office Building - Suite 5.300
101 E. 27th Street
Austin, Texas 78712-1532

Mailing Address
The University of Texas at Austin
Office of Sponsored Projects
North Office Building - Suite 5.300
101 E. 27th Street, Stop A9000
Austin, TX 78712-1532

Telephone Number (512) 471-6424
FAX Number (512) 471-6564


Office of Sponsored Projects

Proposal Processing

Margaret Hoard, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-6288; email: mhoard@austin.utexas.edu
Barbara Reyes, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-6289; email: barbarareyes@austin.utexas.edu
Shannon McCain, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-4241; email: s.mccain@austin.utexas.edu
Angela Adair, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 232-0876; email: angela.adair@austin.utexas.edu
Yvette Trujillo, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-2335; email: ybtrujillo@austin.utexas.edu
Coreen Davis, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-8074; email: c.davis@austin.utexas.edu
Erin Allen, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-3181; email: ema@austin.utexas.edu
Yolonda Moore, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 232-7019; email: y.moore@austin.utexas.edu
Lorena Garza, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-6269; email: l.garza@austin.utexas.edu
Dale Cherry, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-5138; email: cherry@austin.utexas.edu

Funds Going Out Subaward/Subcontract Negotiations
(Subawards/subcontracts to university/governmental/other nonprofit organizations)

Maggie Gillean Schamber, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 232-4804; email: mgillean@austin.utexas.edu
Adam Sharp, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-2457; email: adamsharp@austin.utexas.edu
Robert Brown, Grants and Contracts Specialist; email: rbrown@austin.utexas.edu

Post Award (routine Federal, State and Other Awards)
(No-cost extensions, revised budgets, grant transfers and general questions about grant terms and conditions)

Christian Pfeiffer Flores, Manager, (512) 471-1076; email: cpfeiffer@austin.utexas.edu
Sarah Fella, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist (512) 232-4319; email: sarah.fella@austin.utexas.edu
Chris Daily, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 232-6527; email: cdaily@austin.utexas.edu
Celeste Cervantes, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 232-8063; email: cervantes@austin.utexas.edu

Funds Coming In Contract Negotiations

Mitch Owens, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-2344; email: tmowens@austin.utexas.edu
Mark Featherson, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 232-6087; email: mark.featherston@austin.utexas.edu
Mohini Patel, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-2342; email: mohini.patel@austin.utexas.edu
Catharine Corder, Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 475-6123; email: catcorder@austin.utexas.edu
Gwen Hebert, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-3919; email: gwen.hebert@austin.utexas.edu
Gina Bhakta, Grants and Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-1076; email: bhakta@austin.utexas.edu

Office of Industry Engagement

Bill Catlett, Director, (512) 471-6279; email: bcatlett@austin.utexas.edu
Ty Helpinstill, Associate Director, (512) 471-6234; email: tlane@austin.utexas.edu
JC Rodriguez, Senior Contracts Specialist, (512) 471-5859; email: jc.rodriguez@austin.utexas.edu
Rebecca Leamon, Contracts Specialist, (512) 232-3512; email: rebecca.leamon@austin.utexas.edu

General Office: (512) 471-3866; email: industry@austin.utexas.edu