Research Recognition

The University of Texas at Austin faculty is distinguished nationally and internationally and includes winners of the Nobel Prize, Pulitzer Prize, National Medal of Science and the Wolf Prize. In addition, numerous faculty members have been selected to membership in prestigious scholarly organizations.

Recent Awards and Honors

Two Professors to Receive National Medal of Science

Two professors from The University of Texas at Austin will be honored by President Barack Obama with the National Medal of Science. Allen Bard, in the College of Natural Sciences, and John Goodenough, in the Cockrell School of Engineering, are two of 12 eminent researchers who will receive the medal this year, bringing the university’s overall total to five since 1962.

Engineering and Natural Science Faculty Members Receive Early Career Awards

Two University of Texas at Austin faculty members, Brady Cox and Brent Waters, were honored at the White House this week with the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States government for science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

Professor Credited for Development of the Lithium-Ion Battery Elected to National Academy of Sciences

John Goodenough, a mechanical engineering professor at The University of Texas at Austin who is widely credited for the scientific discovery and development of the lithium-ion rechargeable battery, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Young Mathematician Receives One of Europe’s Highest Honors

Alessio Figalli, assistant professor in the Department of Mathematics, was named one of the winners of the prestigious European Mathematical Society (EMS) prize, which is awarded every four years to 10 young European mathematicians who’ve made outstanding contributions to their field.

Notable Prize Winners


Steven WeinbergNobel Prize

Steven Weinberg, Jack S. Josey - Welch Foundation Chair in Science Regental Professor, won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1979 for his work on what is called the weak force in particle physics.





David OshinskyPulitzer Prize

David Oshinsky, the George Littlefield Professor of American History, won the 2006 Pulitzer Prize for history for his book “Polio: An American Story.”






George Sudarshan

Dirac Medal

George Sudarshan, professor in the Department of Physics, received the  2010 Dirac Medal and Prize with Italian physicist Nicola Cabibbo for the two scientists’ work on the fundamental forces of nature.






National Medal of Science

Karen Uhlenbeck, Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents Chair in Mathematics #3, is one of three faculty members who have received the National Medal of Science. She received it in 2000 for pioneering contributions to global analysis and gauge theory that resulted in advances in mathematical physics and the theory of partial differential equations.




Wolf Prize

Luis Caffarelli, Sid W. Richardason Foundation Regents Chair in Mathematics #1, receive the Wolf Prize in mathematics in 2012. His research is in nonlinear analysis, partial differential equations and their applications, calculus of variations and optimization.




Draper Prize, Fermi Prize, and Japan Prize

Draper Prize - 2014 - The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) bestowed John B. Goodenough of The University of Texas at Austin with the highest honor in the engineering profession for the groundbreaking creation of the lithium-ion battery.  He was one of four recipients of this year’s Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering in recognition of their significant roles in developing the lithium-ion battery, which is used by millions of people around the world in devices such as cellphones, laptops, tablets, hearing aids, cameras, power tools and many other mobile electronics.

Fermi Prize - John Goodenough, Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, received the Enrico Fermi Award in 2009, one of the most distinguished science and technology honors given by the White House.

Japan Prize - John Goodenough was also a 2001 recipient of the Japan Prize for his discovery of environmentally benign electrode materials for high energy density rechargeable lithium batteries.


Japan PrizeC. Grant Willson

C. Grant Willson, Rashid Engineering Regents Chair and Professor, received the Japan Prize in 2013 for his development of chemically amplified resist polymer materials for innovative semiconductor manufacturing process.






Allen J. Bard HeadshotFermi Prize

Allen J. Bard, Norman Hackerman - Welch Regents Chair and Professor in Chemistry, received the Enrico Fermi Award in 2014 for his significant contributions to basic research, technological innovation, teaching and service. His exemplary career and dedication to the highest ideals of scientific research have served as a model for generations of scientists in the United States and abroad and earned him a reputation as the “father of modern electrochemistry.” Through his service to the profession, including numerous publications, training of scientists and applications of research to a broad array of challenges in the energy domain, he has raised the scientific standard in, and brought national and international recognition to, the field of electrochemistry.