American Law Institute

The American Law Institute is the leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law. The Institute (made up of 4000 lawyers, judges, and law professors of the highest qualifications) drafts, discusses, revises, and publishes Restatements of the Law, model statutes, and principles of law that are enormously influential in the courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education. ALI has long been influential internationally and, in recent years, more of its work has become international in scope.

To further its law reform work, the Institute elects individuals who reflect the excellence and diversity of today's legal profession. Membership in the American Law Institute is a distinct professional honor, and the number that may be elected is limited to 3,000 (not including life, honorary, and ex-officio members).

By participating in the Institute's work, its distinguished members have the opportunity to influence the development of the law in both existing and emerging areas, to work with other eminent lawyers, judges, and academics, to give back to a profession to which they are deeply dedicated, and to contribute to the public good.


Alexandra W. Albright

Mark L. Ascher

Karl O. Bayer

Barbara A. Bintliff

Philip C. Bobbitt

Robert G. Bone

Jeffrey V. Brown

Barry D. Burgdorf

W. Amon Burton, Jr.

Robert Mims Chesney

William J. Chriss

Michael L. Cook

Joe K. Crews

Hector De Leon

A. Mechele Dickerson

Ward Farnsworth

Mark P. Gergen

John M. Golden

Paul W. Green

Dagmar S. Hamilton

Robert W. Hamilton

Patricia Isela Hansen

Nathan L. Hecht

Patrick E. Higginbotham

Henry T. C. Hu

Stanley M. Johanson

Susan R. Klein

Daniel M. Kowalski

Kurt Kuhn

Andrew Kull

H. Douglas Laycock

Sanford V. Levinson

Ronald J. Mann

Basil S. Markesinis

F. Scott McCown

John J. McKetta, III

Linda S. Mullenix

Lucas A. Powe, Jr.

William C. Powers, Jr.

David W. Robertson

Pieter M. Schenkkan

Sander W. Shapiro

M. Michael Sharlot

Bea Ann Smith

Matthew L. Spitzer

Jane Stapleton

Michael F. Sturley

William F. Stutts

Gerald Torres

Ben F. Vaughan, III

Louise Weinberg

Russell J. Weintraub

Jay L. Westbrook

James A. Williams

James W. Wilson

Patrick Woolley


Visit the American Law Institute Web site.