NASA Awards

NASA's most prestigious honor awards are approved by the Administrator and presented to a number of carefully selected individuals and groups of individuals, both Government and non-Government, who have distinguished themselves by making outstanding contributions to the Agency's mission.

Distinguished Public Service Medal (DPSM)

This is NASA's highest form of recognition that is awarded to any non-Government individual or to an individual who was not a Government employee during the period in which the service was performed, whose distinguished service, ability, or vision has personally contributed to NASA's advancement of United States' interests. The individual's achievement or contribution must demonstrate a level of excellence that has made a profound or indelible impact to NASA mission success, therefore, the contribution is so extraordinary that other forms of recognition by NASA would be inadequate.

Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal (ESAM)

This prestigious NASA medal is awarded to both Government and non-Government individuals for exceptional scientific contributions (specific, concrete scientific achievements) toward achievement of the NASA mission. The award is given for individual efforts that have resulted in a key scientific discovery or resulted in contribution(s) of fundamental importance in this field or significantly enhanced understanding of the field. Scientific contributions typically result from reasoned investigations or studies of phenomena using collected data and observations, current scientific theories and formulae, and the scientific method and/or other formal techniques, to attain enduring principles. (A contribution that was overlooked at the time it occurred will also be considered.)

Distinguished Public Service Medal

Hans Mark (Aerospace Engineering) - 2007


Exceptional Scientific Achievement Award

William H. Jefferys (Astronomy) - 1992

Hans Mark (Aerospace Engineering) - 1984



Visit the NASA Awards Web site.