National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences." In 1980 Congress expanded this recognition to include the social and behavioral sciences.

A Committee of 12 scientists and engineers is appointed by the President to evaluate the nominees for the Award. Since its establishment, the National Medal of Science has been awarded to 468 distinguished scientists and engineers whose careers spanned decades of research and development.

Medal Recipients

Allen J. Bard (Chemistry) - 2013

Karl Folkers* (Chemistry) - 1990

John B. Goodenough (Mechanical Engineering) - 2013

Norman Hackerman* (Chemistry & Biochemistry) - 1993

Karen K. Uhlenbeck (Mathematics) - 2000

Steven Weinberg (Physics) - 1991

John A. Wheeler* (Physics) - 1970



* (deceased)

Visit the National Medal of Science Web site.